We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Hilton Taupo”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Stay at Hilton Taupo”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very spacious rooms, helpful reception and excellent facilities. The buffet breakfast is worth having. The fitness centre with spa pool heated pool gym and sauna was amazing. quiet rooms in a good location overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Christine R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your most favourable comments on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    520
    189
    64
    23
See reviews for
428
1,143
59
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Set on the hillside above lake taupo giving lovely views across the lake. Staff are really great giving such good service. Hotel rooms of very good standard, would recommend this hotel and would love to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elizjoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Elizjoca,

Thank you for your most favourable post on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would not only love to return but will also recommend us to family and friends.

We look forward to seeing you back here again.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The only downside is that free internet access was limited, but otherwise we were impressed with the facility. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were updated and clean. The breakfast was excellent but pricey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear John P,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your views on trip advisor, I appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to see that you were impressed with the hotel and found the staff friendly, the rooms clean and the breakfast excellent.

We hope to see you back at the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Drove 3 hours in terrible conditions and arrived in Taupo pretty shattered. Was most happy with a fast, efficient check in and had no issues when asked if I could store some product overnight in the kitchens fridges (I sell wine and Chevon goat meat). Staff were most happy to help. I received a ground floor room toward the back of the hotel which was of good size with a nice shower/bathroom. Bed was comfortable as one expects from a Hilton property. TV was small for the room, I thought, but as I wasn't interested in going out due to the weather, I might be being overly critical there! Comfortable stay to dry out and do business the next day rested and recovered.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Ash B,

Many thanks for your recent post on trip advisor. I was sorry to hear that you experienced such terrible weather on your way to Taupo but was pleased to hear that you were quickly checked in, found the staff accommodating with your requests, and overall had a comfortable stay.

We look forward to seeing you back here in the near future when hopefully the sun is shining.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Always enjoy staying here. Simon Gaulter's restaurant is excellent. The truffle spread is to die for! Sunset over lake taupo while drinking bubbles and dining is decadent! Hilton Hotel pool and spa and a real treat and the rooms are superior comfort. Always keen on an overnight here. For an evening walk wander down to the spa resort next door and take your swimwear for a relax in the hot pools. Good memories.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank I2950OItanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Tania S,

Many thanks for your most favorable trip advisor post. I am delighted to hear that you have again enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your continued custom and we look forward to seeing you again for more sunsets and bubbles.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

will not look forward to stay in this hotel, staff are very polite but money we pay you don't get all amenities like internet was very slow , we got one biscuit for 3 adults only four tea bags, these are small things but very important as we were tired of long drive and thought of relaxing by having cup of tea with biscuit but were disappointed. Then next day were tired of walking thought having hot bath tub but there was not soap.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Harvinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Harvinder S,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on trip advisor. I welcome your feedback as it helps me understand where we do well and where we can improve. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we have not met all of your expectations. Your views have most certainly been shared with our Executive Housekeeper who joins me in apologising for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Was here for 3 nights - had a great room and was treated very well. The gym / pool and sauna are great, the suite we had was fabulous and the view stunning. Breakfast was good
All in all no complaints whatsoever
Well done guys !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Elsterz,

Many thanks for your trip advisor post. I am delighted to hear that you loved all aspects of your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not so distant future.


Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing