We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for touring about”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, England.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good location for touring about”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 days whilst touring around South island, it was perfect for what we wanted and although in itself not in a particularly special location its facilities.

The gym, pool and spa were fantastic, the restaurant area was also very pleasant.

The rooms are very comfortable and a huge variety of types whether front of the property or back, one side over looks the pool the other the lake in the distance.

My only complaint
YOU PAY A LOT FOR THIS HOTEL AND YET THEY STILL CHARGE FOR WIFI, THERE IS NO NEED FOR IT NOWADAYS. STOP IT!!!!!

I would stay again - but I wouldn't pay for wifi on check out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank onthepiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear onthepiste,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our gym and spa facilities as well as your dining experience in Bistro Lago. I am glad to hear that you found our rooms to be very comfortable and that the hotel’s location we perfect for your touring around.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    513
    188
    64
    23
See reviews for
425
1,129
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here in mid March and were lucky enough to book the hotel on a good deal at the last minute, and then were given an upgrade. The Hilton provides that extra touch of luxury and we had a fantastic suite, just at a time when we so appreciated it. The suite had a huge bedroom; a very comfortable and spacious sitting room with an enormous picture window looking onto a large, private balcony and spectacular view beyond; a bathroom with a heated floor and a really powerful shower; a fully fitted kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer (which proved so useful because all our clothes had been soaked and mud splattered when we had been caught in a torrential downpour while walking in a thermal park); and in-room wifi.
After being chilled on our walk we also made good use of the fitness centre, outdoor heated pool, sauna and steam room, all of which are kept in pristine condition.
We ate breakfast at the Hilton; again it had everything you would expect from a hotel of its standard: a huge range of fresh and healthy dishes, as well as dishes for everyone's personal and cultural preference.
The hotel is just outside the town, but this means that it is really peaceful, and, like most travellers, we had a car so this suited us well.
The staff were warmly welcoming, friendly and so helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear x2_travel_bug,

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I really appreciate you taking the time to post about it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your breakfast at Bistro Lago and that you were able to make use of our pool and spa facilities to relax after your hard day.

I do hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Quality 4.5 star property with all inclusions. Spotless clean and moderate luxury room with views to Lake Taupo and mountains beyond. Excellent gym next to heated pool, spa and steam room much appreciated features. Five star meal in the restaurant. Check in personnel over pretentious while check out crew very pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Steven P,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor and it is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you made use of our gym and spa facilities and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards,

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a business trip and extra night.

The Hotel itself is reasonably well located near the lake and just off two main roads. It is however the kind of location that would require the guest to have access to a vehicle to get the best out of it. For guests with cars parking is available free outside or for a fee in a secure internally accessed area under the hotel. The location also allows rooms on the lake side to have an excellent view of lake Taupo (the largest lake in NZ). Rooms on the other side have a pleasant outlook over the pool and a natural area with thermal activity.

Check in is fast and easy for a group and the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms (we were in a King Hilton Guest Room) are very large and our room had access to an outside table and secluded area near the pool. This is not my first visit to the Hilton and over the years I have been in many different rooms that have all been of the same high standard. The rooms are warm, clean and modern. Ours had a nice deep bath and separate shower. Aircon is controlled from a panel in the room and works well. Good size TV with access to a range of channels local and international. There is also WiFi available but this is at additional cost unless you access from the lobby area.

Beds are quite soft and there is a selection of pillows available from the main reception desk area. My only comment in relation to room selection is that rooms on the ground floor, depending on specific location, can suffer from a bit of noise from the pool area and especially from the plumbing in rooms above.

The hotel also has a bar and restaurant facility staffed by friendly locals and with a good atmosphere. There are also a couple of outside areas with fireplaces that are good to have a drink at. The pool, spa and gym areas are very nice. Only issue here is to make sure that the spa and pool have not recently been serviced as they use extremely large amounts of chemicals. I suggest conversion to salt water would be a great change in this day and age.

Overall the Hilton is a superb place to stay. Rates do vary and at the cheaper end represent a bargain for travelers looking for high quality accommodation. The staff are well trained and make you feel very welcome. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may suffer a little from external and internal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear justine555,

Thank you for taking the time to post lovely comments on TripAdvisor. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your continued loyalty. It is great to see that you make us of all the facilities and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Traveling back from Wellington we felt like breaking the journey so opted to stop for the night in Taupo. Having been recommended The Hilton by friends , it was a great oportunity ! What a treat ! It certainly didn't disappoint. We were able to upgrade to a junior suite which was very roomy with a separate lounge - dining area. We had our own balcony with rural views and over the hotel swimming pool! Gorgeous. The shower was amazing - the pressure fabulous ! Staff were super friendly and helpful. We were even able to have an underground car park (for a small fee) for our classic car , which we were really pleased about ! Had a fabulous meal at Bistro Lago also. (See separate review ) The only shame was, we could only stay for one night ! Will definitely be back !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kirstine W,

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post about it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to see that you found both the facilities and team to be fabulous and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had an upgrade to a beautiful suite with just incredibly beautiful views over the lake and the sunset. The rooms were just awesome, the staff very friendly and helpful, the pool and gym fantastic! We also had breakfast included which was really nice. Overall a great place to stay in Taupo if you're looking for a quiet and relaxed place a bit far away from the crowd,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Eva W,

Thank you for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the room and facilities were to your liking. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great view of the lake and mountains from our King Deluxe room. Room was lovely, clean and spacious. Quick drive to Taupo town in our rental cars. Staff were very friendly. Would recommend trying to book your dinner sitting before you arrive if you are set on a particular time. They seem to be very popular and therefore seating times go quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alistair & Nico... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post so wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor, it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the great view from your Hilton Deluxe room and that you found the team to be very friendly.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing