We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant only reviewed, lovely luncheon, really tacky Simon Gault advertisements”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Restaurant only reviewed, lovely luncheon, really tacky Simon Gault advertisements”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful with a fantastic outlook over the lake right across to the three volcanoes. A beautiful restaurant with big open fires, lovely set tables and attentive waiting staff. Being a cold day and quite late the four of us had it pretty much to ourselves. The menu is as youd expect from a Simon Gault cheffed establishment, extensive, reasonably priced considering his status as a master chef and with a very nice wine list.
We settled on the fish and chips (tarakihi) for three of us whilst the other chose the beautifully presented pork and beetroot risotto. All meals were declared delicious, the fish n chips served up in little paper coverings, with the chips in tiny chip baskets, with a lovely side salad of iceberg ( spelled incorrectly on the menu as iceburg) with chipotle dressing. We all shared the rocky road cherry mousse which was also beautiful, followed by teas and coffees. A lovely relaxing meal with a mixture of drinks to accompany them.
A couple of gripes. Having a wine menu where so few wines can be bought by the glass is lacking in foresight, both in trying out new or unknown wines, and, of course trying to encourage people to buy whole bottles of wine when the only way you can get to the hotel is by driving.
Secondly, this is a quality restaurant so why the tacky, full view advertising and presentation of Simon Gault products for sale. Maybe in USA mate, not here. Have some class please. A small notice giving people the opportunity to try out his product by going online would have sufficed. This was poor, really poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Shower1,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Bistro Lago. I appreciate your additional comments regarding the wine and Simon Gault promotions and hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    514
    188
    64
    23
See reviews for
425
1,130
57
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We got upgraded from a suite to a one bedroom apartment with an awesome view. Nothing to fault, room was huge and clean. Only didn't like the sofa bed which was quite uncomfortable for the children, found them sleeping on the sofa the next day.

If we were to do it again, will stay somewhere in Rotorua. Lake Taupo was quite a distant from most attraction.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Cara P,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay on Trip Advisor, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
251 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our hosts recommended dinner here and our waiter Michael was most attentive and had reserved us a table by the window with a great view.

The meal was fine, if predictably expensive, but the problem came when I tried to pay and was told, at the table in front of everyone, that my credit card had been rejected!

I went to talk to the supervisor Jessica, who, it turned out, had attempted to take money from my UK credit card without using a PIN or asking for a signature. After I explained to her what she should have known (that this was not possible) payment was taken.

I then found that the staff, including the supervisor, had no idea how the Hilton Honors points system works, so I had to visit reception in the next building to sort this out.

There was a suggestion that the Simon Gault restaurant Bistro Lago was not part of the Hilton at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear EssexRichard,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor post. I appreciate your feedback as it helps me understand where we are doing well and where we can improve. I will follow up with our Food and beverage Manager to ensure that his team is trained correctly with credit cards and updated on our Hilton Honors Programme.

EssexRichard, thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best place to stay in Taupo. We had a junior suite-lush! The heated outdoor pool was great even midwinter and the shower, linen, cleanliness and even the room service pizza top notch! First hotel gym I've seen that really is a gym with sauna and lovely fluffy towels. Service in the bar was a bit slow but that's being picky loved it can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Anne M,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor and it is wonderful to hear that you had such a relaxing and luxurious time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay at the Hilton Taupo. We paid extra for a lake view room on the 3rd floor, definitely worth it. The rooms are large and service is great. Balcony had a decent outdoor table. Would definitely go stay again. Awesome !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottyshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Lottyshot,

Thank you posting such wonderful feedback about your recent stay on TripAdvisor, it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your room and the wonderful lake view. I am delighted to hear that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Kauwhata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I so wanted to like our stay at the Hilton in Taupo but overall I was disappointed. The room was lovely and spacious but two silly small chairs to sit in that were not that comfortable. We just wanted to kick back and sit in the sun with a book or crash on a couch and watch some tv but the room was on the ground floor near the entrance with a wooden deck and chairs outside.so some of the view was obscured. I went looking for somewhere comfy in the sun to sit and the only place the front desk staff could direct me to was the bar, where some very comfortable leather couches were situated in the front of the fire but away from the sunlight. However Jamie, the very friendly bartender kindly lit the fire.as although the sun was shining there was a bitterly cold wind. Not having free WiFi in the rooms was frustrating, as was being woken by the phone ringing not once but twice at 2.08am with no one there. Our swipe card didn't work when we went to park in the underground car park. Not easy trying to turn round when there are othe cars behind you. One fundamental design flaw is not having internal access to the restaurant/bar. For a short distance you are at the mercy of the elements as the hotel faces into the prevailing wind. However, the breakfast was very good and the staff very attentive and professional.

Room Tip: If you're wanting a good view, try for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Noelene S,

I really appreciate you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, for future stays I would advise booking a junior Suite or One Bedroom apartment which have a separate living area which sounds like it would have met you needs.

Thank you also for your other constructive feedback and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and fond the team to be attentive and professional.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for one night recently. We had booked a king room with lake view, only to find a room on the first floor with a big deck pillar blocking any hope of a view. One phone call to reception and the very helpful manager moved us up to another room with the longed for view we requested. Nothing to much trouble. The room was comfortable and spacious with an enormous bed although very bland in decor. The deck was shared with other rooms on that floor. The view across the lake to the snow capped distant mountains was lovely. The Bistro Lago was a gem of a place with fantastic food and NZ wines, excellent service at breakfast and dinner. Location of the hotel a bit out of the township. Gym, pool and spa all good quality. Limited free WiFi in the lobby and restaurant is a negative. Hotels potentially lose points for not having free WiFi in the rooms

Room Tip: If you want a view above the adjacent buildings to the lake and beyond, you need a lakeside room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear billy0063,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay, and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the view of the snow-capped mountains, as well as our fantastic food and wine from Bistro Lago.

Billy0063, I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing