We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite relaxing”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton after a bad nights sleep at De Bretts next door (thats another review).
We found the staff to be friendly, and efficient, and the hotel itself to be well maintained inside and out.
It has a lovely spa out back which is great on cold winter nights... also less tourists during the winter so it was hardly used.
We stayed in a king deluxe room overlooking lake Taupo. The room was warm and quiet. Admittedly it was on the ground floor so you cant see a huge amount of lake Taupo. I assume to get an upstairs room the cost goes up per level.
One slight gripe was the room service quality. I find in NZ in general room service is overpriced, and undelivers on food quality. In this case The Hilton was no exception.
A chicken breast dish was ordered which was pretty undercooked. Room service advised this was because the way the meat was cooked, boiling rather than grilling, or baking etc. I'd have to disagree as the meat was still pink in the center, and when squeezed pink juices were visible. We were not charged for the meal.

Other than the general price/quality of room service, and mishap on the chicken breast, we enjoyed our stay as a whole. 4/5


Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelbugs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Travelbugs66,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay with, and it is fantastic to see that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for your additional comments regarding the room service meal, I will be passing your feedback onto our chef for his reference. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

A great stay - clean, warm and comfortable with expansive lake views. Restaurant is an great place to dine for both dinner and breakfast. We did not want to leave the premises on a wet winter's night so it was good to be able to do everything in the one facility. Excellent service from everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Phillip J,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us and it is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fabulous hotel. extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Lovely room with Lake views which was stunning. Definitely recommend. Excellent conference facilities with good natural light in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Toni K,

I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be fabulous, the team to be friendly and helpful, and that the conference facilities were fitting to your needs. Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great Location, extra comfortable bed with pillows to suit your preference (Perfect). Modern, spacious and clean rooms. Fantastic heating in rooms including the floor heating in the bathroom that was excellent, really appreciated. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Henry M,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor and it is fantastic to see that you found the bed to be comfortable and the rooms to be modern, spacious and clean. I hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Where to start I have to say this is one of the best venues I have stayed at. The staff were genuinely friendly, helpful and interactive, when they are interacting with each other and they don't know they are being overheard you can tell they are happy and enjoy their work and each other. The food was fantastic, the rooms great and comfortable, it was fantastic

Room Tip: The heritage part of the hotel is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Tonya T,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post feedback on TripAdvisor and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent conference with us. I am glad that the food and facilities were fantastic and that the team made a lasting impression on you. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Kind regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great view, comfortable apartment and lovely pool facilities. However we were surprised that services like wifi and car park were all additional costs per day. Something we should have checked before booking. I would have thought those charges could have been part of the substantial booking fee.......

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Kelly R,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay with us, it is great to hear that you found the apartment and facilities to be lovely and comfortable. I hope that we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hilton Lake Taupo is a bit out of town but the views of the lake make it well worth while. Unfortunately our room did not face the lake but looked over the valley. The room itself was comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was rather small and there was no bath. The housekeeping staff were very pleasant and helpful. We found the outdoor walk from the carpark to the room quite long but we could have chosen to spend $10 for the underground carpark. Spa pool and gym facilities very nice. Very nice reception staff. We didn't dine but the restaurant looked nice. Would be a great place to stay in summer when the pool and tennis courts would be very appealing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view, close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineWatson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear CatherineWatson70,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the Summer so that you can enjoy our wonderful facilities some more.

Kind regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 68 in Taupo
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £102 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing