We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
blogfoguk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 30 January 2010

A brand new superb hotel on the banks of beautiful Lake Taupo. Great on site bistro, superb attentive management ,lovely pool, gym sauna etc and extremely comfortable rooms. Stay here... you''ll be glad you did. Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blogfoguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    520
    189
    64
    23
See reviews for
428
1,143
59
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2010

The hotel looks great from the refurbishment and the rooms are at a high standard.

I would return here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattjward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We took the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal for our 29th wedding Anniversary and really enjoyed being able to stay in one place and take in all the ambience; it was a really wonerful treat :)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerreNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed had the old Terraces hotel with the nice verandas. It was a very nice room and with a good bed. In the bathroom we had two showers.
The personnel were very friendly and gave good service. We had a very good new years eve diner at the restaurant. Unfortunately is was not a very big party in the hotel bar at 00:00, but we had a good time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nootdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I'm a travel agent and have seen a number of hotels in NZ. All I can say is WOW and please do yourselfves a favour and stay there!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenkaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed here for one night on our drive down to Wellington. I booked it on wotif and got a great deal. I had paid for a lake & mountain view but when we got into our room, it was looking out over the pool area at the back. This was still a lovely view but having paid for a lake view, were disappointed.

I immediately rang the front desk and explained and they said they would look into it and ring me back. I had to ring back three times over an hour because no one was calling us back. The Assistant Manager, Lisa finally answered the phone and handled the issue immediately on the phone. Lisa was lovely and efficient and because we had had to wait so long to get it sorted out, she upgrated us to a one bedroom lake view apartment.

Lisa personally came and got us and took us to our new room, fantastic service. It was outstanding, we could live in it! The view was amazing and the sun was streaming in.

We unfortunately couldn't get into the restaurant as it was full so instead of driving into town we decided to have room service so we could enjoy the suite.

They said the room service would take 45-60 minutes but it was delivered in 30 minutes and the food was fantastic. Every dish we had was lovely, very well presented and plenty of it.

Breakfast on Saturday morning was a bit tiresome. We got down there at 9.30am and had to wait 60 minutes in the bar for a table. It wasn't that it was full, it was half empty but when people were leaving tables they weren't being reset. Maybe they were short staffed because they just couldn't keep up. Once we got a table we then had to wait 35 minutes for our breakfast to come out. But it was worth the wait as the food was excellent.

It's really to far away from town to walk to the shops and restaurants, you must have a car when staying here.

A lovely stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooks1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

A magnificent property with wonderful staff and magnificent facilities......our recent stay was second to none!! The pool, gym and tennis courts are outstanding facilities and the Bistro Lago restaurant was the best food and service on our trip thorugh the North Island.
I highly reccommend this hotel for a fine stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WgtnPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing