We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a 5star hotel in Taupo with 5star service”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
“At last a 5star hotel in Taupo with 5star service”
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed in the 1 bed apartments unfortunatly for 1 night only
Wonderful hotel in a great location, origianlly i was bit disapointed with the location on the Napier rd, but this elevated position has an incredible view over the lake to the mountains beyond.
This is a special part of NZ and now has a wonderful hotel to match!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    534
    196
    67
    26
See reviews for
449
1,168
61
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2010

My partner and I were having a long weekend get away and after completing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing we were thrilled to be greeted by such welcoming, interested staff. On-top of that we then arrived in our beautiful, immaculate, spacious room which was definitely 5 star+ and had the most lovely feeling about it. We enjoyed being on the first level, over-looking the out-door pool, as our room opened onto a fairly private out-door area and being a perfect Taupo day we enjoyed sitting in the sunshine with a cold glass of wine.
We had a great time and, if in Taupo, is well worth considering Lake Taupo Hilton as a place to stay!1

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blogfoguk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

A brand new superb hotel on the banks of beautiful Lake Taupo. Great on site bistro, superb attentive management ,lovely pool, gym sauna etc and extremely comfortable rooms. Stay here... you''ll be glad you did. Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blogfoguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2010

The hotel looks great from the refurbishment and the rooms are at a high standard.

I would return here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattjward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We took the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal for our 29th wedding Anniversary and really enjoyed being able to stay in one place and take in all the ambience; it was a really wonerful treat :)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerreNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed had the old Terraces hotel with the nice verandas. It was a very nice room and with a good bed. In the bathroom we had two showers.
The personnel were very friendly and gave good service. We had a very good new years eve diner at the restaurant. Unfortunately is was not a very big party in the hotel bar at 00:00, but we had a good time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nootdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I'm a travel agent and have seen a number of hotels in NZ. All I can say is WOW and please do yourselfves a favour and stay there!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenkaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing