We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiwaka, Northland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed the night on our way south, as we do this time every year. We've stayed at the same motel in Taupo for years, but after a particularly hot and sleepless night on our journey last year I wanted something with air conditioning. The Hilton was not a lot more than the motel we usually stayed at, for one of their "guest rooms". I found a good price through wotif.com.

I was dubious, however, when I realised the location as we approached - the old Hotel De Brett on the Napier Taupo Road (SH 5). We'd stayed there years ago, in an upstairs room facing the road, and were kept awake all night by the big trucks making their way to and from Napier. I needn't have worried on that score at all. Our room at the Hilton faced away from the road, and once the door was shut the road noise was very faint in the background. I should imagine that the rooms facing the road are well sound-proofed, too.

Like others have reported here, I was impressed with the service at reception. Others were checking in when we walked through the doors, and a staff member welcomed us and invited us to take a seat until someone could take care of us. We chose to park our car ourselves, and good instructions were given on how to get to the car park entrance and where to go once we were inside - even to the point of the girl walking out the door with us and pointing the way.

Loved the underground parking (I loathe a hot car bathing in sunshine), and it was very easy to take the lift up to our floor and find our room. We were on the first level, which is ground level at the "back" of the hotel, away from the road and facing north. Our room had a double sliding door out onto the patio, which made for plenty of fresh air coming into our room, and it was very pleasant to sit outside at the table provided.

One curiosity we found just outside our room was the lightning rod, and a counter on it - currently reads zero, and I must remember to take a look at it next time we're there!

The room was a delight and very comfortable. Plenty of room to move about, and keep your luggage from under your feet.

In the bathroom there was also a good amount of space to move about. The shower was great - set at a decent height, which seems to be a problem in most places I've stayed at, and fully adjustable up and down and sideways, so you can turn the water on without getting wet, and you can be under the downpour or not while you shower, as you please. Good water pressure, too. I really liked the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries provided in the bathroom, they were a lovely touch. And I really liked not having to step over the side of a bath to get into the shower (something I don't even like at home).

One thing slightly disappointing was the tv setup. With having an HD setup at home, the poor reception on the free-to-air channels and the way the picture was stretched to fit the wide screen was very noticeable to me, but not a big deal. I can't understand why hotels and motels use what appears to be the (rather poor) broadcast signal for the free-to-air channels, when there is a much better quality to be had via the Sky or Freeview satellite systems. And why only one movie channel, but several sports ones?

Oh, and be warned that the tv gives out a very loud chime, regardless of the current volume setting, when you turn it on or off - so keep that in mind if you want to watch while your partner sleeps!

It was very nice to be able to eat on the premises instead of having to drive into town and find a restaurant. We walked to the bistro, housed in what used to be the Hotel De Brett (the rooms are in a new wing). We hadn't made a reservation, but from what we saw and heard it's a good idea to do so as they're pretty busy. Wonderful food. Not large portions, but perfectly adequate - we walked away full but not overstuffed, having shared a plate of breads to start and a main each, and one of us had dessert.

Next morning I had breakfast in the bistro as well. Not so busy then, bookings not necessary I'd say. I love banana and bacon together, but would never have thought of putting melon and bacon together - it was delicious!

At both meals the service was very good. Attentive and friendly staff, food arrives quickly.

I think I just found the place where we'll stay in years to come when our travels take us to Taupo. :-)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    534
    196
    67
    26
See reviews for
449
1,168
61
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We bookedl through the Hilton January sale so we did get an exceptional deal at $168 for Bed and Breakfast. We went for the standard hotel room with a view at the back but on arrival the room was overwhelmingly warm, I didn't say anything as I just thought the air conditioning needing to get going. Shortly after we got a call from reception asking how the temperature was, I mentioned it was very warm at which point we were offered a new room and an upgrade for our inconvenience. The chap who took us to the room had gone back to reception and mentioned it and they had acted on it immediately which I thought was excellent.

We then moved to a junior suite, still at the back but a fantastic room. If you can afford a lake view it is stunning but otherwise the ones at the back are fine.

We had room service one night, a couple of excellent Pizzas, the following night we ate in the restaurant, it was booked out so I would definitely make a reservation. The food was excellent quality, service friendly without been over formal which creates just the right atmosphere. Try and get a window seat, the view is glorious, or it would be had the weather not let us down.

We have stayed at the Clarion and if you need an apartment this may be a better value option however I didn't see the Hilton apartments to be able to make a direct comparison. If you want a lovely hotel for a treat this is the place to be, its just a shame its so far from Auckland otherwise we would visit more often.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson - new zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

First time with Hilton Hotels and I was impressed - particularly with the service. The front house reception staff came round from behind the desk to speak to me and explain this - like key use, parking etc. Everyone we encountered acknowledged us and were very polite. That was what surprised my wife and I. The sort of service you get a exclusive smaller boutique hotels - definitely would stay again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0ndar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed in the 1 bed apartments unfortunatly for 1 night only
Wonderful hotel in a great location, origianlly i was bit disapointed with the location on the Napier rd, but this elevated position has an incredible view over the lake to the mountains beyond.
This is a special part of NZ and now has a wonderful hotel to match!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2010

My partner and I were having a long weekend get away and after completing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing we were thrilled to be greeted by such welcoming, interested staff. On-top of that we then arrived in our beautiful, immaculate, spacious room which was definitely 5 star+ and had the most lovely feeling about it. We enjoyed being on the first level, over-looking the out-door pool, as our room opened onto a fairly private out-door area and being a perfect Taupo day we enjoyed sitting in the sunshine with a cold glass of wine.
We had a great time and, if in Taupo, is well worth considering Lake Taupo Hilton as a place to stay!1

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blogfoguk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

A brand new superb hotel on the banks of beautiful Lake Taupo. Great on site bistro, superb attentive management ,lovely pool, gym sauna etc and extremely comfortable rooms. Stay here... you''ll be glad you did. Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blogfoguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2010

The hotel looks great from the refurbishment and the rooms are at a high standard.

I would return here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattjward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing