We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uplifting stay with fab views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
Ranked #7 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I stopped over for a couple of nights whilst travelling south from Auckland to Hawke's Bay.

We're so pleased we stayed with Rob and Becky rather than picking a hotel in Rotorua. As well as the friendly welcome and daily pre-dinner drinks and nibbles, they were able to give us some insightful recommendations on things to doing the local area.

We stayed in the side cottage which had its own access and superb view across lake Taupo to Mount Tauhara. It was all very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent. My wife says they had the softest bathrobes she's ever tried!

Acacia Bay itself is quiet (just a shop and lovely local restaurant) so travelling with your car is essential.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rodger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Second stop on our 3 week trip around New Zealand. Exquisite property , with superb views. Made very welcome by Becky and Rob and joined them in the evening for drinks and nibbles on the verandah. Becky cooked a lovely meal and we sat around the table after the meal sharing and swopping stories and tips for travels. We were thoroughly relaxed and enjoyed our two nights at Tauhara Sunrise . Breakfast was yummy toooo !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had a beautiful view of the lake out of the large picture window in our room. And also from the guest sitting room and the breakfast room. Our hosts were helpful and friendly. Everywhere was clean and comfortable they told us about a great restaurant within walking distance because after driving all day we just wanted to leave the car and walk. After a good breakfast next day they gave us directions to the local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaym46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Whilst we didn't sample other B & B's in Taupo, we can't imagine one being better. Rob & Becky are lovely people and wonderful hosts. Their home is extremely spacious and our bedroom was a generous size complete with walk in robe and large bathroom. The bathroom also had special touches such as perfume and great quality shampoo and conditioner for your use. Our room had a very large window with views of the lake and was attached to a guest kitchen with complimentary beer and wine in the fridge. A special touch and something that we have never experienced at any other B & B was the 6.30 canapes and drinks served in their beautiful upstairs sitting room. Having the opportunity to sit and chat with Rob & Becky, as well as other guests that were staying was a real treat and something we looked forward to. On the other hand if you were more private and happy to do you own thing that was not a problem either. The upstairs terrace has views from every vantage point of the lake and a hot tub if you want to relax. We found Rob & Becky very knowledgable and full of information about the area having lived there for many years. Acacia Bay is a short distance out of Taupo but we were offered transport into town for dinner if we needed it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in the small cottage at the back of the property. The cottage has been very well designed for guests with everything one could need. It is decorated nicely and well maintained. The Lodge is set in a residential area about ten minutes by car from the centre of town. There is a good view of Lake Taupo from the cottage, and an even better view from the deck of the main house. Rob and Becky are excellent hosts. If you have the opportunity, do have a meal at Tauhara Sunrise Lodge. Becky is an excellent chef, and Rob serves very good matching local wines. You won't find better cuisine in Taupo. And the conversation is great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robmcewen, Owner at Tauhara Sunrise Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Many thanks for your review Paul. No doubt I'm biased, but I think that in addition to our globally acclaimed Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir wines, our Hawkes Bay Syrahs, Bordeaux style reds and Chardonnays are also most excellent and it is always fun to share a glass or two with guests over great conversation at the end of the day. Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

On our 4 week trip through NZ north and south islands we were lucky to find this place. Thank you, Betsy, for this extraordinary stay in your beautiful house, thank you for the friendly welcome, for helpful advice to plan some special excursions in your region, for the nice breakfast, for a well working WiFi and for all the interesting conversations. We will surely be back at this lovely place, whenever we will be in NZ again. Droli & Andi Baumgartner from Switzerland

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We spent three nights at this superb property with great hospitality from the owners Rob and Becky. Our most comfortable room looked straight out over the lake. With a hot tub on the spacious terrace and sumptuous towelling robes we enjoyed the luxury of it all. One thing Rob & Becky do which we really liked was to have a Happy Hour at around 6.30 for all their guests which included a wine tasting and canapés. This gave us the opportunity to get to know them better and to meet the other guests with whom we swopped experiences.
It was also nice to be out of town but close enough for a short drive only to sample the local eateries.
I managed to catch some prawns at the local Prawn farm which Becky kindly cooked for Happy Hour. She also took us for a lovely walk down to the water front.
Highly recommend a stay here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,184 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
3.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
0.1 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#1 of 42 in Taupo
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tauhara Sunrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tauhara Sunrise Lodge

Address: 38 Mapara Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3377, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: £141 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tauhara Sunrise Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning 180 degree views over majestic Lake Taupo in the centre of NZ’s North Island, Tauhara Sunrise offers luxury yet casual boutique lodge accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tauhara Sunrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing