We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want to rest and recharge your batteries, this is it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
Ranked #7 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is is a fantastic B&B over looking lake Taupo in New Zealand, this is my second visit, the view from the verandah is stunning and in the crisp evening air the panorama of lights across this huge lake are breathtaking. There were three couples in our group which meat we were the only people there and this made for a great time, the host Becky and Rob were great company and the evening drinks around the fire were outstanding, great wine, Becky's nibbles and Robs smoke Trout and what more could you ask for. It was the birthday of one of our party and we had them cater for a dinner for him, the Lamb shanks were better than any I have had in most restaurants around the world. We went fly fishing whilst we were here and they arrange a guide for us who was an excellent local guide who put us on to a lot of great fish, ask for Peter if you need a guide and you wont be dissapointed.
If New Zealand is your destination and you want a great place to stay in a great location, with really loverly hosts, then give Tuhara Sunrise a try, I will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here for our last night in New Zealand and I wish we could've stayed longer. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, luxurious while being homely. I loved it! Pre-dinner canapes were delicious and also chose to have dinner which was delicious. The property itself is just beautiful and has some amazing views over lake Taupo. The guest rooms are incredibly spacious and the bed is just so comfortable.
Becky and Rob are great hosts and I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Taupo.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

A beautiful home, elevated position with lovely garden and private, very comfortable accommodation. Rob and Becky are very welcoming and attentive hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (two couples in the White Cliffs King Suite and Lake Taupo Queen Suite). The hospitality is just perfect and advice about local - and not so local - attractions very useful. Highly recommended and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank which_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed for one night in the Chalet d'Amour. It was absolute perfection. Luxurious accomodation, spectacular views of Lake Taupo, hot tub in the cottage looking out over the lake. We liked it so much we ordered food in and sat by the fire as we didn't want to leave. Could not recommend it highly enough. Rob cooked us an amazing breakfast in the main house the next morning, gave us the use of his computer to organise a few further things for our trip and even helped us with our car which was giving a bit of trouble. The location is very central and could be used a base if driving to see alot of the North Island. Luxury accomodation, great location and lovely people.

Dean (Ireland)

Dean

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayoDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We had a wonderful stay in the Chalet d'Amour suite at the Tauhara Sunrise Lodge. Very luxurious and relaxing. Rob was a wonderful host (Becky was out of town) and we loved our breakfasts and pre-dinner apps and drinks. We enjoyed relaxing at night in front of the fireplace and in the hot tub overlooking the lake. A must stay if you are visiting Taupo!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wburgdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Rob and Becky would have to be the most welcoming and hospitable people I've had the pleasure to meet. Our stay at Tauhara Sunrise was a special treat for my husband's birthday and we stayed in the gorgeous Chalet d'Amour. Every detail was attended to and although it was the middle of winter (and it gets pretty cold in Taupo!) the double glazing and gorgeous gas flame fire ensured we were warm and cosy the whole time.

The cottage was equipped with quality wines and evening nibbles were provided. We had breakfast in the lodge with the most stunning views of Lake Taupo and Tauhara 'mountain', and or our cosy cottage also had stunning views. I couldn't put the camera down!
Rob cheerfully drove us into town and back to enjoy some of Taupo's great restaurants.
Thanks so much Rob and Becky - you guys rock!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here last year and are still making recommendations to friends and family. It was by far the best place we stayed in NZ. You could not ask for nicer hosts or better food. We loved it so much we didn't want to go out!

You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonecassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
3.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
344 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
2.6 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 42 in Taupo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tauhara Sunrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tauhara Sunrise Lodge

Address: 38 Mapara Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3377, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: £129 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tauhara Sunrise Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning 180 degree views over majestic Lake Taupo in the centre of NZ’s North Island, Tauhara Sunrise offers luxury yet casual boutique lodge accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tauhara Sunrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing