We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern rooms with addition of swimming pool and hot tub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
257 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“modern rooms with addition of swimming pool and hot tub”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

very good quality motel with pool and hot tub. The room with a view cost extra but most of the view was that of the other units between us and the lake. It was 3km into town centre but half that to the nearest pub with food. Sadly they charged for WIFI which was usually free in most other places we stayed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    93
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
126
294
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed in a luxury studio for one night in September and we just wished we could have stayed longer! beautiful room right on the side of the pool and hot pool with a view of the lake. really comfy bed and big bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed there for night. The balcony room was spacious and clean.
The Clarks provided awesome service. I forgot my suit in the closet and the Clarks kindly offered to courier it back to me the next day. Thank you soo much.
I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayomand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We have stayed at the Reef Resort many times, and love it. For my husband's 40th birthday we decided to stay in the absolute lake edge luxury three bedroom apartment. This apartment is amazing, and has the most amazing view in the world across the lake to the snow mountains beyond.

Another two couples stayed with us, which meant the cost to stay in absolute luxury was not a lot more than the price of a normal motel room, with the benefit of a beautiful kitchen, spa bath, spa pool, gas fireplace, large TV, and the amazing view. Drinks on the deck watching the sunset was amazing.

Room Tip: Have a weekend away with friends and book the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsors081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Sadly we didnt have a lakeview room, but we knew that when we booked, so no complaints at all... thats all the negatives, but no fault of the hotel!

Hotel is excellent. Service is impecable, rooms are clean, modern, comfortable, warm and more than comfortable. The staff were always helpful and offered suggestions for places to eat and sights to see.

I think the hotel is drastically underpriced. We paid somewhere in the order of NZ$100 (studio) for one night and would have hapilly paid more than 50% more. Sadly we only had one night, but we will be back for many more I am sure.

We are going to be in Taupo early next year again and without doubt will choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My wife and I went on a romantic weekend away. We arrived late in the evening but everything was sorted for us. We loved the room and the views! The facilities are great..the location is perfect. Will reccomend anytime. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Great place and Great service . Turned what was just a trip away into a second Honeymoon.We both really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: The room we had opened out on to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trouble37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Property: The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing