We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Ticks all the boxes!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were welcomed, helped with our bags and given local information. . Our room had a great view of the lake and the "snowy" mountains.. Very comfortable room with spa bath, great bed and kitchen facilities. Easy access to lake for walks. We will return!.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake views if you like the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 462GrandMay462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello there.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review/feedback. My wife and I had to spend a week in one of our own luxury studios when we first started managing here due to not have a bed in our own flat. We have to say the views that you experienced from that room were something that we could get very used to.

We are so happy that you enjoyed everything that our room had to offer and also were more than happy to help you with the information you needed to make your stay in Taupo more enjoyable. We always like to make sure that our guests get the most out of their stay here. Not only at our motel, but in Taupo in general also.

We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    94
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
129
299
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great place.
Fabulous rooms with Jacuzzi baths, fantastic views, great facilities, really friendly and helpful staff.
Thermal spa pool that must be tried.
And take a walk round the lake and watch the ducks cooking them selves in the thermal springs.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feed back. As always we are happy to hear that the Jacuzzi in the room went down a treat. They are a feature of our luxury studios that we are very proud of. Being on the lake front is another great feature that we love to promote, and Erin and I love to walk along the lakefront and do exactly what you did, by watching the ducks hang out near the hot springs. Always entertaining!

We do hope that you come again and thank you once again for your fantastic comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have to thank the contributors to Trip Advisor for their recommendations, that I wholeheartedly support. The owners could not have been more welcoming, or more helpful. My room, with a view of snow-capped mountains, was delightful. It’s possibly one of the best small resorts in Taupo, and I wish I could have done it justice by staying longer.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you Robert for your kind feedback. We are glad that you found Trip Advisor a useful tool in finding accommodation. We are especially happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you stay and hope very much that next time you are in Taupo, you will stay us again.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotorua
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very nice hotel, recently renovated very clean and tidy, the hot mineral pool was a hit.


The staff where super friendly and very knowledgeable, they advised for us to go to the pantry for dinner and it made our trip.

The hotel is located right on the lake, at night i recommend walking out the front and see all the steam coming off the lake

Can't fault it..

I rate my experience there 8/10

Room Tip: Must be on level 2 or 3, not 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Hello Glen,

Thank you for taking the time to place a response on Trip Advisor. We very much enjoyed having you stay with us here at The Reef Resort.

We especially liked that you enjoyed the easy private lake access that our property has down to the lake. We are lucky with the hot mineral water coming out into the lake near our front section, and it is particularly handy as we use the mineral water from that stream to heat our thermal pool.

So again thank you for your kind words and feed back, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Kind Regards

Erin and Amos
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for two nights. The room on arrival was clean and tidy but lacked the nice fresh clean smell of the previous motel we had stayed in. We seemed to get cooking smells coming into our room, especially in the morning, the smell of bacon cooking was very strong in our room. The service of the room on our second day was very basic - the bed only pulled up not made, with the blanket even sitting on the floor on one side of the bed and not even over the edge of the other side and the floors had not been vacumed at all. However the warm swimming pool and hot mineral spa were fabulous and we thoroughly enjoyed them. The managers were very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.

First of all, we would like to apologise for the lack of attention and detail with concerning the service. We do instruct our housekeeping staff to clean and vacuum when and if needed, and certainly make the bed. Basically we expect the room to be serviced to a standard that we have set and this is not good enough. We will have having strong words with our staff to ensure this never happens again.

We also apologise for the cooking smells that may have come into your room. However we do not have any control as to what people cook in their kitchens and occasionally the cooking smells can drift around the property, and there is not a lot that we can do to control that.

We are a property that prides itself on our cleanliness and presentation, so to us this is a complete failure, and we will be sure to make sure this does not happen again. We do hope you consider returning here as we would love to make up for your less than satisfactory stay. Do contact us and let us know.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hot pools and swimming pool.

Once again thank you so very much for your feed back.

Erin and Amos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We came up for the weekend to skydive and we really enjoyed staying here the manager/ owners and lovely and friendly the rooms are spacious with everything you need and the pools are fantastic wish we booked two nights but we will be back and have recommened to our friends

Room Tip: Book poolside if you want to swim in the thermal pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at the reef resort during last August in one of their luxury apartment.
We originally made a booking for 4 nights as we were planning to stay at the hotel next to it (sacred waters lake taupo) for the rest of our vacation. However, after spending just one night in the reef resort we decided this is the place that we want to stay in for the rest of our vacation.

The check in was really quick, didn’t take more than couple of minutes.

As soon as we stepped in the apartment, we fell in love. I don’t want to seem exaggerative but I really liked everything in the apartment. It was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. There were 2 bedroom, 3 bathrooms and an extra room with a sofa bed. The kitchen was fully equipped and there was also a laundry room with a washing machine and a dryer. Since our apartment was in front of the hotel we had a wonderful view of the lake, which was literally just out of the apartment’s front door.
Although the hotel is not in Taupo’s center , it is still relatively close to it (about 15 minutes by walk and few minutes by car) . moreover , many restaurants in Taupo offer delivery service so no need to worry about not having restaurants so close to it .

Now I come to the aspect that I wanted to talk about most, the managers Erin and Amos. They were so kind and helpful and always available when we called them. Actually Erin offered us a free ride to the car rental company on our first day and she once cleaned one of our bathrooms herself when we complained about having ants in it (the ants just came in when it rained so no big deal), also on our first day we ordered breakfast from them and we were provided with a generous amount of butter and jam that we kept using for days after that.
Erin and Amos, you are really doing a great job in managing this place so keep up the good work.
We have stayed in many hotels all around the world but the only place we felt it was a home away from home is the reef resort .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefresorttaupo, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hello there.

Thank you so very much for you kind and generous words about your stay with us. We are so humbled and blown away by your comments and experience you had with us..

We always try to do everything we can to make our guests experience here a special one, and glad that yours was just that.

Our courtesy car is always available for the use of our guests and it was our pleasure to take you into get your rental car. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast, we do try and make both our continental and cooked breakfast value for money and use local products where at all possible.

We are sorry that you had a minor problem with ants, but we do always try to keep on top of any infestation of ants that occur. Unfortunately it is one of those things that will always need attention as long as we have food around the units, luckily this does not occur very often.

Again thank you so much for staying with us, and also we really loved the meal that you cooked for us as a sign of your appreciation. It was fantastic. We do hope that you come to stay with us again as we had a great experience hosting you and making a home away from home for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Property: The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing