We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for a night during our road trip to Auckland. Loved the swimming pool and 40 degree thermal pool. Made our Valentines day very special! There is a private gate that leads to the lake, stunning! Owners/managers were really friendly/helpful and parking was no problem. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a private gate that leads to the lake Taupo. (the access code for the gate is located in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siaulater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so very glad that you had the perfect Valentine's Day get-away, especially our naturally heated mineral and swimming pool. We enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

My sisters, niece and I were in Taupo for a family challenge - to do the Tongariro Crossing.We had a lovely room right beside the gorgeous pool and hot tub (what a godsend for some very sore mussels).Very clean and comfortable room and fantastic service by Erin and Amos who were both friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Anne A:

Thank you Anne for your really thoughtful and kind comments. We are so glad that you found our complex the perfect place to stay as part of your journey to Tongariro Crossing. The hot tub is certainly the perfect way to soak away those sore mussels and relax reliving the amazing adventures that you may have had. We do hope that you choose us as your next accommodation provider the next time you are in Taupo.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed here, our room had a view of the lake with stunning views and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic place to unwind and explore surrounding areas. Within 20 min walking distance of the main centre with lots of restaurants and shops. The pool was great as was the thermal pool and grounds.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view and balcony are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

anne h:

Thank you so much for your kind review and comments. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself whilst staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in Taupo as a base for our trips to into Tongariro National Park, about an hour's drive away. The rooms were clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. Our room had a view of the street and a small kitchen area. We received some very helpful advise from the friendly owners of the hotel, a husband and wife team, about restaurants and bars nearby. Our favorite part was the small thermal pool that was heated by the natural hot spring. It was a fantastic way to relax after hikes in the national park.

The hotel isn't in the center of Taupo, but is a short 20 minute walk around the lake away. I would recommend this walk as it is very scenic and pleasant versus walking on the sidewalk near the street.

I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timpromontory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

timpromontory:

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and wonderful comments about your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the aspects of what we had on offer, especially our thermal pool. We do hope that you choose to stay with is on your next visit to New Zealand and here in Taupo.

Thank you again and we wish you all the best.

Erin and Amos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Beautiful view on the lake, super nice host, very clean rooms, the reef resort is the perfect place to stay in Taupo if you are looking for something simple and not crazy expensive. The owner at the front desk gave us a lot of very good advices (the best restaurant in town...) and was super friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Marie C:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved having you stay. We do hope that next time you are in Taupo, you choose us as your port of call.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very comfortable room. Clean and tidy with a nice view. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Great to have a laundry facility after a few days on the road and with washering machine and dryer only $2-00 per load very reasonable. Spa thermal pool excellent for unwinding. The bath shower combination was a little tricky as my husband has leg problems and found it a bit difficult to manouvre in and out but then that was our fault as we had not mentioned it when booking. Very pleasant outlook and so handy to everything without being caught up with the hustle and bustle of the town. Erin suggested Sunset was an excellent time to see the Black swans and thermal spring at the front of the property and it did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room so you can enjoy the views. If you have mobility problems you might like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

'Helen R'

Thank you so very much for your review and wonderful comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and in particular our brilliantly warm and toasty mineral spa. We often find that the sunsets here are fantastic and being so close to the lake front with our private access is brilliant for our guests to check out.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our room was very nice; clean, spacious and comfortable, good bed. No complaints there but there were some issues with the resort itself. Actually, "resort" is a bit of a stretch as it is really just a small hotel with no real resort features. There is a small pool and a natural little thermal pool the size of a small hot-tub but on our visit they both were completely monopolized by one large family group and we were unable to use them and poolside seating was limited to just a few loungers. There is no restaurant on site and parking is very limited. Anyone expecting a resort experience is likely to be disappointed. We woke up in the morning to have no hot water. To their credit, they were able to get it working in about a half hour. If you consider it as just a hotel, it was fine and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrillerBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

'DrillerBurlington'

Thank you very much for your review and constructive comments on our complex.

If you check out our website and our 3rd party booking websites you will see pretty quickly that the term 'Resort' is also coupled with 'Motel' . We do acknowledge that we do not have a restaurant but this is pretty clear when you check out our website.

We, however, lucky that we have a fantastic restaurant only 5 minutes walk down along the lake front and plenty of delivery and chargeback options for our guests to choose from. Our guests also have a choice of cooked or continental breakfasts, both of which are cooked and prepared on site and delivered to the room for convenience.

It is a shame you felt you could not use the mineral pool, however it is a very busy time of the year, and you will find out guests including the family group would probably have been more than accommodating had you wanted to use the pool. We are so sorry that you felt you couldn't use our swimming facilities, and had we known about it at the time, we would have remedied the situation for you.

We thank you very much for you patience regarding the loss of hot water in the morning, as soon as we were aware of the situation we had it rectified as soon as we could. Some things that occur like that are beyond our control as you can understand.

Anyway we thank you very much for staying and we do wish you all the best for an enjoyable journey around our beautiful country.

Erin and Amos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £85 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing