We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed at the Reef Resort Motel on several occasions. Erin and Amos are an absolute delight they are so friendly and welcoming when arriving at the Motel. My last experience was so special they had a cancellation and they surprised me by upgrading me to a beautiful unit overlooking the lake. I have spent time in different units and all of them have been so clean, tidy and luxurious. There has been no road noise of any7 sort from any of the units. It is only a lovely short walk to town or a relaxing walk around the lake through the back gate. I would certainly recommend anyone visiting Taupo stay at the Reef Resort I will certainly be staying there on my next visit again.
Thank you Erin and Amos for a wonderful stay.
Regards Pam, Collier

Room Tip: I have been in several rooms unless you want a view any room is wonderful, extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shan1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Pam.

Thank you every so much for your review, and great comments. As always, we enjoyed having you stay and are so pleased that you enjoy all the benefits of our property. We do hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to place your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This motel has a good position overlooking Lake Taupo. This is especially good if the day is clear and the peaks of Mount Tongariro are visible. Be aware that there are other accommodations in front of you but they are low rise & do not obstruct the view.
We had unit 10 which was large with a huge balcony complete with loungers & chairs. The decor was nice, perhaps some items of furniture were showing a little wear.
Though our room overlooked the pool too we did not suffer any noise issues; perhaps this depends when you stay such as school holidays. The road outside is busy so recommend a unit away from traffic.
It is a fair distance from the centre of Taupo - maybe 30 minute walk but would be pleasant along the lakeside on a nice day.
There is free wifi, a laundry & a buffet breakfast can be purchased if necessary. Parking was a bit tight as some of the spaces are tricky to get in to.
Would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your stay here with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Luxury Studio, and all it had to offer with the large balcony and extensive views of the lake and mountains in behind. You will be pleased to know that we are going through a process of recovering and updating all our furniture, as you can imagine this takes some time.
We do hope to see you again sometime soon or the next time you are in Taupo and thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The managers, Erin and Amos, were very friendly and very helpful to the point that they helped us with trouble we were having with a rental car. Rooms are lovely and although it is slightly away from the centre of Taupo it is an enjoyable walk along the lake. The spa pool was very relaxing and a nice place to sit while watching the sun set! If we return we would definitely stay there again. Erin and Amos, keep doing what you are doing and best of luck for the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHEdin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review on your stay with us.

We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and we glad that we could help you regarding your rental car. We do hope to see you again here the next time you are in Taupo, and remember our hot mineral pool is ready and waiting for your next visit.

Again thank you for taking the time to place such kind comments.

Erin and Amos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently stayed here for just one night. Well worth booking the lake view room as our room had great views out over the pool and then the lake. Would definitely recommend to others. Walk down to the lake front down the path from the hotel and you'll find a thermal outflow into the lake.

Room Tip: Upstairs with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottShadbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi there.

Thank you for staying with us here, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you again the next time you are in Taupo.

Erin and Amos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Arrived here unexpectedly early but were warmly greeted by Amos and Erin who made sure that we had all the information we needed for our stay in the area. The room was superb and had a large balcony overlooking the pool and, beyond that, the lake. After we had settled in we walked around the lake into town for lunch. This took rather longer than we had been led to expect but it was a pleasant walk.
Our first morning there we went to L'Arte for breakfast having been told about the mosaic art in this cafe and its shop. Although the cafe was interesting and worth a visit we both agreed that the breakfast served at the hotel the following morning was far superior.
After 2 nights we had to move on to Wellington but we would have willingly stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocky081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hello there. Thank you for your kind review and comments. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience here in Taupo and at our motel. We are in particular happy that you enjoyed our cooked breakfast. We do put a lot of effort in to it and use local produce in terms of the bacon and sausages.

Again thank you for taking the time to review our property and we do hope to see you again the next time you are in Taupo.

Erin and Amos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Reef Resort. It was a very comfortable room the pool was lovely and the service was outstanding. Very handy to restaurants and sight seeing. Would definitely recommend to others and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filo136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We do thank you ever so much for your kind review and positive comments. We do hope to see you again next time you stay in Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Only here for one night, but on arrival we had a very warm welcome, apartment spacious and very clean. Well equipped and breakfast served to your room was a nice touch. We had a cooked breakfast, which was very good and hot. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us and your kind comments. We do hope that you enjoy the rest of your journey around New Zealand and hope to see you again in the future as it was our pleasure to have you stay.

Thank you so much;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing