We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT POOLS MID WINTER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“HOT POOLS MID WINTER”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We visited the hot pools for the day recently. The main pool area met expectations and was lovely to soak in warm water mid winter. On arrival we discovered we needed student ID for 2 teenage children, something we didn't have, much to our delight this was not a problem as they just asked for the school name and gave the discount.

Room Tip: Take your own picnic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linpenfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and we do hope you visit again sometime.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    250
    68
    30
    18
See reviews for
338
173
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were really looking forward to a relaxing spa experience and a fun time for the kids. The 2 bedroom chalet we spent a lot of money on was very small. There were 5 of us and it had one small 2 seater couch in the lounge and 2 small bean bags which we were tripping over. No wardrobe in main room at all. After paying a significant amount for staying here we had one towel per person for our two night stay even though it was a spa resort (you have to pay to hire extra towels), plus you have to pay to gain entry to the spa so it all gets very expensive.

The spa itself was really crowded and the main pool looked really dirty - just my opinion. The very hot pool was cleaner but too hot for the kids so we couldn't really stay in there for long and enjoy it. The 'warm water' play area for very young kids would have been great had the water been warm - it wasn't. It was downright cold and hence my kids got no enjoyment from this at all. The main reason I booked here in winter was for the kids to have some water play so this was a let down. We would've gone to a private pool but were told these were too hot for the kids so can't comment on this as we never got to see them.

We had a nice view from our deck and the shower was a great size even though unit as a whole seemed very small for 5 people (and it was a unit that could take up to 6!). Don't think I'd go back to be honest. We stayed an extra night in Taupo in a different place and by comparison it's clear to me that better value can be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMcC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your issues with the Chalet you stayed in (Spa Chalet 1) have been duly noted and forwarded to management for their consideration, regarding seating and wardrobe. We do have a policy of offering a full refund if a guest is not satisfied with their accommodation choice within an hour after checking in.
Also, the team at reception are more than happy to supply extra towels to guests upon request and the towel hire at the pools is directed at those who frequent the pools but are not staying at Taupo DeBretts.
Unfortunately, with these holidays being one of our busiest on record the likelihood of a relaxing time at the hot pools was something we could not guarantee.
As a matter of interest, our pools are drained, cleaned and refilled every night and the water is constantly being filtered with UV filters to remove any harmful material.
We hope you do consider staying with us again as we do offer a 10% discount to return customers and we do have other accommodation options as well.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I visited Taupo DeBretts Spa few days ago but have not used the main pools only the private one.
We were little bit disappointed that the private spas were used by everyone. Last 20 minutes I just couldn't enjoy it as the kids and their parents were screaming and banging the wall - terrible and so unfair! People pay good money to have a rest. Why would you take your loud kids to those small cabins that were clearly designed for adults to relax and to enjoy the benefits of this lovely mineral water? There is so much outside for children to keep them entertained.
Private spas should be for relaxing not for kids. I love kids but sometimes you need a moment for yourself. You need to make this division that everybody can enjoy their stay. I would be back again sometimes but only for a private spa. I also thought that it would be nice to put some plants and a colorful light in the private pools to make it more relaxing as it is very basic - just a suggestion.

This is purely FAMILY SPA POOLS and not a relaxing spa. If I come here with children I would love it as it is a perfect place for kids.

Overall nice place but I suggest that the management make some changes as there are another two amazing spa pools in Taupo/Rotorua area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miras28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in Taupo for a week and needed one more night. As we had previously purchased a 5 day pass for the hot springs we decided to stay at the resort. The hot pools were fantastic and with a slide, private family pools and clean change facilities were a winner. We stayed in a superior cabin with 4 teens. the cabin was clean with comfortable beds and under floor heating and 3 hours free Wifi. Overall a nice cabin but a bit pricey, but as we only needed one night that was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Wonderful clean accommodation with the added bonus of unlimited access to the hot pools for a small price (worth every cent!). Staff were wonderful, facilities were clean and the 2 bedroom motel unit we stayed in had everything we could want and had been recently renovated to keep it up to date. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyce1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our family stayed for 2 nights in Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort and it was perfect. The accomodation was excellent and clean with a good kitchen if we needed. The hot pools were fantastic and we could come and go all day as we were staying at the resort. My husband and I both had treatments at the spa and that did not disappoint. The front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating. The coin operated laundry facilities very reasonable in price and so convenient. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope that we can host you again sometime.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The customer service was OUTSTANDING! The front desk lady was wonderful - even to the point of driving on a buggy to show us to our cabin. The was very clean and comfortable apart from the bed. My partner and I don't have the best backs but neither of us could barely walk the next day so thank goodness for the hot pools.

We'd definitely stay again purely for the how the place is run and the facilities but maybe find out if there is a better queen bed available in a different cabin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Front Office Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here despite the less than comfortable sleep.
I will forward your concerns regarding the mattress in the cabin to owners and management so that they can explore the possibility of replacing it.
Thank you and we do hope to be able to host yo9u again sometime.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.4 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Property: Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing