We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jurong, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Me and family book a lodge no.22 at de brett..very clean..unique lodging..we can park our van right outside our lodge..
Lodge comes with fully equipped kitchen..

Friendly stuff..resort comes with fully equipped ammenities for caravan n camper van..2nz washing machine n dryer..common toilet super clean..staff constantly keep the resort in superb condition..

Hot spring were superb..a must go..
Giant air pad that me and sibling jump non stop..its just perfect..

10 min drive to lake taupo n town..countdown supermarket has all cooking item we need...

I cant describe enuf...please go here..its the best stay i had in north island..please stay here at the least 1 night..

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hermanshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hermanshah thanks for the review, delighted to hear that you had fun on the Airpad also, it's a good workout that's for sure. Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    252
    69
    30
    20
See reviews for
345
179
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Really enjoyed our time at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort thanks to the excellent customer service afforded to us by the check in staff on our arrival. After a long day of travelling in the rain we arrived bit tired and weary, checked into our accommodation only to find we had booked a different cabin to that we thought we were staying in. This was okay and due to travelling on a budget accepted, then went for a walk around the park. When we got back we found the cabin after being closed up to smell quite damp and rank, mouldy overridden with the smell of some cleaning products. Admittedly it had been raining but we could not have slept in this room without getting a severe headache. My husband went and spoke to the admin staff and well this is where the Staff excelled themselves, taking our concerns seriously and moving us to another cabin that made our holiday experience memorable. Thank you Taupo Debretts for one of the highlights of our NZ holiday. The Spa Pools were the icing on the cake. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Be sure to double check the room/cabin you are booking especially when booking on-line that it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the review Michelle, pleasing to hear that we sorted your problems immediately and you had an enjoyable stay with us. Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The accommodation at De Bretts is well laid out and has a real holiday feel. The office staff welcomed us in a very personable way and walked us to our accommodation and took time to explain everything personally. It was a great welcome after a long drive.
We booked a ‘standard basic double room’ which was a cabin with a king size bed - very comfortable, and we were happy with the size of room, price, cleanliness, and size. It came with free wifi which worked very well.
We were disappointed to find that the room was actually a partitioned regular cabin with a locked connecting door in the unit wall through which the voices and movement of neighboring tenants could be heard very clearly. Privacy is compromised in this arrangement, so beware of what you may get if you stay here.
The room came with a jug, however the power points were not located anywhere the jug cord can reach. They were all at the bed end of the cabin and high up the walls. As a result the jug had to be balanced on a bed to boil......a very inadequate and dangerous situation. In addition the other appliances were balanced in a tower, the small fridge had a microwave on top with a tv on top of that and a set-top box on top of that. We were disappointed with this and would not recommend this room to anyone especially as the jug arrangement was most unsafe.

The nearby communal kitchen is enclosed, spacious and well appointed with great BBQ’s as well.
The spa complex is excellent and a 50% discount on the entry price is given if you stay in the accommodation.
The staff at the spa were welcoming, however the steep downhill walk was not all that easy on the return exit.
The spa complex's age is reflected in small ways, however we found it well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Do not book the standard cabin because of the noise from the wall(door) of the adjoining cabin, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Colin many thanks for your detailed review. Thrilled to hear that our staff were welcoming and you enjoyed the 50% discount at the Hot Pools. I have passed on your comments about the safety to the relevant team member, as your photo indicates it is not very safe. We do our best in our room descriptions and floor plans that the standard cabin does join onto another cabin, I will be checking and updating our 3rd party booking engines to make sure that the description is correct like it is on our website floor plan. Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This resort was recommended by a friend and we had a family cabin for 4 of us for 2 nights. Check in was very efficient and pleasant and staff were very professional and friendly. The kids loved the park and the cabin was perfect for what we wanted, although it was tired looking in places and could have done with a redecoration in the bathroom. All in all great value mind.

The hot springs were lovely although some of the facilities have seen better days... That said the waters were clean and refreshing and I'd rather keep costs down than pay for a high end spa experience. The 3 day family pass was great value at $45 NZ.

Only issue was was check out where I explained the misfortune of being charged twice for internet access - they couldn't help me at reception and weren't as friendly as at check in. I'll be emailing them to get a refund once home and will update post accordingly. It was strange that on leaving they simply said we shouldn't have followed the in-cabin instructions for wi-fi as it never worked anyway! Overall a very nice spot mind.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gethjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your review Gethjenks. It would be good to get your wifi experience sorted if you could email me lucinda@taupodebretts.com we will resolve it for you. Hear from you soon Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed her for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. We have two young children and found it a very family friendly place to stay. Great service from the moment we checked in. We stayed in a two bedroom chalet and it was good with plenty of space. It was clean and had everything we needed. We made plenty of use of the pools and found them very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindi149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Bindi thanks for the glowing review, pleased you and your family had a nice time in Taupo. Sounds liek we'll be seeing you again on your next North Island trip :-) Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fantastic, to everything! Beautiful location, beautiful clean kitchens and facilities, everything 1st class, well done, something other sites could well do with learning from! Yes, it's more expensive, but as my dear husband says,
' you get what you pay for'!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fovant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it is great to get feedback about getting what you pay for. We are constantly working on ways to improve the park so it is maintained to a high standard, absolutely flattered to hear that others could learn from us. Cheers Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudarg
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

A third visit for me and I have to say that very little seems to have been done to update a somewhat tired standard of accommodation. It's all there but, clearly, needs someone with a paintbrush to go round and to refresh the cabins & chalets.
That said, clean and comfortable, and as I mentioned in the title, the Spa is super.
They do a good breakfast at reception and a very creditable "Iggs Benedict".

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks Sudarg for your honest and precise feedback about the Cabins and Chalets, we do appreciate your feedback and are surprised that you have not noticed Stage 1 of our upgrades and refurbishments that our team has been busy completing over the last 12 months.

DeBretts has a bed for all budgets from Standard Cabins to superior Lake Villas, we are constantly looking at ways to improve the resort to create a relaxing an inviting experience for our guests, refurbishing the units is an ongoing and gradual process that we are committed too. We are planning to have our new sustainable geothermal heating operating in our accommodation units next week.

I will let the kitchen team know that their Eggs Bene is a hit.

Thanks for your review.
Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Property: Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing