We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and well planned facility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean and well planned facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am sure that people have written many reviews about this place

We, my extended family rented 3 chalets here for 3 days and all were really pleasant. The staff were super helpful, the grounds and amenities were superb and of course there are the hot pools.

Great facilities for kids too, good playgrounds in safe places. Buy a family pass to the pools because the price for individual visits is just not worth it.... $22.00 entry fee for an adult to go for a hot swim and soak.... just too much money in my books.

Room Tip: As far away from the road as possible because the trucks coming down the main road from Napier, at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolyon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Kai Ora Jolyon39,

Thanks for your review of your three day stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the convenience our chalets have to offer.

Our hot springs pricing reflex's admission to all facilities: outdoor/Indoor pools , dragon slide and water playground, you can return as often as you like until 9.30pm. Our rates are the most reasonable you'll find in New Zealand for a thermal complex, all guests that stay with us get half price admission which is still very generous. We do often have packages/deals on our website that include accommodation and hot pools which are very popular. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    234
    69
    27
    18
See reviews for
314
165
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at De Bretts before.. sometimes successfully, sometimes not.
Previously I had booked over the phone for that night and started a long drive there to use as a stopover point between destinations.
When arriving I had found that there were no spare rooms, despite my card being charged. However the staff did refund my money and booked me in at the Hilton next door. This actually worked out quite well as the Hilton on hearing this gave me an upgrade to a suite for free.

On the most recent trip in June, I had booked waaay in advance for a cabin with ensuite. I was not expecting 5 star, just a clean, quiet place to relax for a few days with my partner.
When we got there the office was not open as it was fairly late 10pm, but the keys were ready with small map to the cabin. Found it without a problem and the heating was on which was a nice touch. However the place stank very badly... either of cat urine or perhaps some kind of insect treatment? Hard to say, other than it was very very strong. We stayed as we had little choice, and found the place to be fairly run down. The blinds were broken, the shower wouldnt stop dripping, and could not hold a stable temperate alternating between hot and cold.
After a unresful night thanks to the shower, and general smell of the place, we got up early and got the remainder of the booking money back.
Once again ended up next door at Hilton.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Travelbug66,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, unfortunately we do not have any records of your first booking, and could you please provide us your email and a date in which we can further investigate (reservations@taupodebretts.com).

We’d like to apologise for any inconvenience you had experienced on both occasions, further issues involving the leaking shower and unpleasant aromas have been investigated by our maintenance team, with no issues found.

We’re pleased to be able to inform you that we have planned scheduled refurbishments of our cabins in the near future. We choose to use eco-friendly cleaning products, this is a part of our business initiative in reducing our environmental impact and on-going commitment to maintain our 5-Star Holiday Park and our prestigious Qualmark Enviro Gold Award.

Warm Regards
Michelle Utiera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in a bungalow in Taupo as a rest stop but really enjoyed our night here. The place was small but perfectly fine for one night. There is a kitchenette, queen bed, couch, two bunks, and a bathroom with parking right outside. You get a discount on the thermal spas which were really nice! I imagine this wouldn't be a great place to stay if you didnt have a car. Staff was helpful!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 685kelliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Kia Ora 685kelliew,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in our cabins, we're glad to hear that your enjoyed our facilities.

Warm Regards
Michellle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in a cabin with our 2 little girls. It was a brilliant place to stay with kids. The place has a playground, big bouncy pillow, entertainment room and the hot springs. You get a 50% discount to the hot springs when you're staying there, so a 3 day family pass for us was $45, we were in everyday and had such a good time. Excellent value! It was cold (we were there for the snow though) but the cabin was heated, the water was hot, the wifi was fast, the staff were great. We even had a daily service to our cabin with new towels and sheets! The view over the lake to the mountains is incredible, I would definitely recommend this place and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Becky W,

Thanks for your delightful review of your recent stay here at Taupo DeBretts, Great to hear you and your family enjoyed our thermal complex. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had previously stayed at this resort about 20 years ago and I must say, the place has changed!

This time we stayed in a Lake Villa, 2 bedroom. Cabin was nice, heating was more than adequate and the beds comfortable. The day we arrived was overcast with hail but the next morning we were presented with a beautiful view of Mt Ruapehu, covered in a fresh fall of snow overnight.

All staff were very friendly and helpful.

The resort offers free WiFi for guests, but in reality, it was far to slow to be useful. Trying to load a Tripadvisor web page would take four to five minutes and checking emails would constantly result in server timeout errors. We gave up after two hours of frustration.

One point that people should be aware of is that they do not book the cost of entry to the hot pools to your room. Not wanting to take valuables down there, we locked our wallets/purses in the room and headed to the pools, only to be told we needed to pay then and there. It was freezing cold, and luckily the girl at the Kiosk allowed us to swim if I promised to come back before closing time to settle the bill.

With the discounted entry, the cost for three of us to swim was $33, plus $45 for towels. $10 per towel is refunded once they are returned but be aware that you will need to hand over $78 for three people to enter the pool.

If you want to experience the thermal pools, you do not need to stay at DeBretts. We met others who were staying closer to town and were just coming up for a swim and a soak. The entry cost to the pools for "outsiders" is $22, rather than $11.

Room Tip: Lake Villas offer a pretty good view of the lake and the mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello Brett K,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. Great to hear you liked the villas, the views of the lake and mountains are superb.

Sorry to hear that the WiFi was not up to speed during your visit, the weather wasn't particularly helpful.

Often we have deals on our website or third party sites that include our mineral pools, all guests staying are offered half price on admission and our staff should have informed you on check-in, we apologise if this is was not the case.

Guests are allowed to take towels from the rooms if visiting the thermal complex, and an exchange of a fresh towel can be made at accommodation reception. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stopped here over night and thought it was a very basic room, old but clean.
Parking great directly outside, the Hilton next door and if you wanted to eat their you can but much cheaper down town.
Apartment had everything,kitchen shower TV in room.
Just very outdated. A small grassed area out the back with a smaller deck.
On a plus their was a great place to relax in the thermal hot pools a short walk from room.
Great for kids to if you bring them. As a couple we enjoyed it, but thought the pools could of been in the price of room.

Room Tip: I think the better rooms are apartments closest to the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daibach999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello daibach999,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay recently, great to hear you enjoyed our thermal complex.

We do have deals available on our website and third party sites that include entry into the mineral pools, otherwise all guest's get half price admission, which is a very generous rate for a thermal complex.

We are in the process of upgrading our motel units, this is apart of a continual plan to modernise and refresh existing accommodation throughout our holiday park. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was originally a bit hesitant to stay here based on some reviews I had read but it was so nice to stay at.

Reception staff were really helpful for day trip information.

Our chalet was fantastic and had views of Lake Taupo. It could possibly have been better with more microwave containers as we only had one small bowl to use. Other than that the kitchen was well provided for.

The kids loved the jumping pillow.

The spa and pool area were adequate. The play area wasn't operational and the steps to the slide really hurt your feet to walk up so the kids didn't do that too often although they really liked the slide. There were chlorinated pools and a natural spring pool.

It is located sharing a driveway with the Hilton Hotel but you go off left to DeBretts.

I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Chalet 3 was nice. You got views of the lake out the front and the spa pool area out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megsmel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello megsmel1

Thanks for reviewing Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, we appreciate your feedback.

Great to hear the kids loved the bounce pillow, it's quite a popular feature with guests of all ages, we are delighted to hear your enjoyed our chalets, hope to see you again.

Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Property: Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing