We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lake
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Funky boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Lake as part of our honeymoon. The suite was LOVELY - immaculately clean, nicely decorated (retro style) and very spacious. The suite was well equipped and we particularly liked the garden where we could sit out. The hosts were really helpful in recommeding things to do and nice places to eat (Mole and Chicken) in the area. Generally, a great hotel, and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sns_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
67
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Large living area with single bed and bedroom with double bed were perfect accommodations for my wife and I and son. Free wifi was a plus. Nice electric blankets on the beds kept us cozy. Very clean. The owner, Helen, was very prompt in returning my emails and recommended a good local place for dinner, The Chicken and Mole. This motel is not directly on the lake but is just a short walk into main downtown shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed at the Lake Motel for 2 nights whilst attending a friend's wedding. I chose this motel based on the reviews I had read and I am delighted to say it was even better than I expected. Helen, the owner was wonderful. She is quite simply a fantastic hostess and did everything in her power to make the stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and very stylishly furnished. Every single customer need was catered for. The garden is beautiful and if only we had had good weather we could have enjoyed a very pleasant pre-dinner drink out there. This motel is a gem and I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Impossible as all the rooms were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We are from the US but have lived in Germany & traveled all over. We found "The Lake" to be perfect. It is quaint & clean & perfectly located. Helen was so pleasant, she even let our 18 yr old son stay in the suite in back of ours for free. I would recommend this hotel to anyone/everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourist2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Lake for 1 night. It was the best Hotel we stayed on the whole trip around North Island.
Helen was really nice to us and she recommended us a superb restaurant for my bday.
The room was really nice. I guess you need to see it for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giro_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We just loved this place ! We wanted something nice and cosy to spend our new new year eve 2010, and this place was just perfect !! We were able to make our own BBQ and enjoy a nice dinner in the charming garden. The location is also great, we did the walking track along Huka Falls and this is one of our best memories ! Our Hosts were really charming and always there to provide good tips on walks and restaurants ! By the way, we recommend the restaurant Plateau !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Very nice hotel. I would stay here again if i'm back in this area. The rooms are very trendy and spacious. There's even a lemon tree with fresh veggies in front of every room. We had a lovely stay here. Helen was incredible. She reminds me of Helen Mirren and Cate Blanchett. Super nice & sweet. Helped us book our trip to Tongariro Crossing and stayed up late to wait for us to arrive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantfindaname10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#12 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake

Property: The Lake
Address: 63 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lake, has attention to detail throughout, the Lake is a unique establishment which has achieved the owner's desire to create a motel that doesn't feel like a motel. From its stylish retro decor, to the bird filled gardens, The Lake truly is a boutique motel with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing