We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lake
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The location is a little out of the centre of town but then the town isn't much anyway. The rooms are good size and when adjusted for the cost are very good value for money. The service is good and the experience very enjoyable. No breakfast though

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
67
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our stay at The Lake was lovely and the host was very helpful our first day getting us sorted out with activities. The rooms are very unique and have a kitchen+stove setup which is nice since we found a lot of the restaurants in Taupo to be a bit pricey.

Would definitely stay her again.

NOTE TO ALL THIS IS NOT A B&B, nor do they advertise that they are, it is a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewG_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Found by accident but would never stay anywhere else in Taupo - lovely little place with 4-5 rooms - friendly lady owner who goes out of the way to make things right - even recommending a great place for food! The rooms are superb - each with its own style and all very clean and tidy with everything you could need. I visited in winter but there was also a little back garden area to relax. Not too far out of taupo and 2 mins walk from the water! Well worth staying.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong Victoria
Level Contributor
211 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Located a short stroll from Lake Taupo is this spotlessly clean and spacious accommodation. It feels like a classy B&B but without the breakfast. Cooking facilities are included.
The road can get busy but the bedroom is out the back so no problems with noise. The premises are located within a residential area so there are no nightclubs or noisy pubs booming out music till the wee small hours.
The garden at the back is an ideal setting for a pre dinner drink & snack before venturing out to one of the many restaurants 10 to 15 minutes walk away.
The Host, Helen and her Cousin Jane made us feel very welcome.
The accommodation was tastefully decorated and everything worked.The complimentary wifi was easily accessed and very fast. We would definitely stay there again if in the area!

Room Tip: For the extra $20 stay in the suite, its well wort it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at The Lake on our way to and from a 90th birthday party in Marton in September.
There seems to be lots of really nice places to stay in Taupo but we were so pleased we chose The Lake, we loved it. and It was only a short walk down to the lakefront which was beautiful.
The apartments(we stayed in different ones each time) were well equipped and clean with large,spacious open plan living ,dining, kitchen area, decorated in wonderful retro style. Nice bedroom and good bathroom.
Lovely garden out the back, a laundry& free internet access.
The electric blankets were a luxury as it wasn't very warm although it was lovely and sunny, in NZ in September!
The real aces here are Helen, the owner and Jane her cousin who holds the fort admirably in her absence. The welcome we received from them was fantastic and made us feel like friends rather than guests.
They suggested all sorts of things to do and The Chicken & Mole was a lovely pub that they for dinner, just up the road.
It was a 20 minute walk to the shops but that was pleasant after long days travelling.
All said, a smashing place to stay with wonderful hosts. Thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms and studio were great but No1 got the morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Lake as part of our honeymoon. The suite was LOVELY - immaculately clean, nicely decorated (retro style) and very spacious. The suite was well equipped and we particularly liked the garden where we could sit out. The hosts were really helpful in recommeding things to do and nice places to eat (Mole and Chicken) in the area. Generally, a great hotel, and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sns_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Large living area with single bed and bedroom with double bed were perfect accommodations for my wife and I and son. Free wifi was a plus. Nice electric blankets on the beds kept us cozy. Very clean. The owner, Helen, was very prompt in returning my emails and recommended a good local place for dinner, The Chicken and Mole. This motel is not directly on the lake but is just a short walk into main downtown shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#13 of 69 in Taupo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#20 of 69 in Taupo
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#45 of 69 in Taupo
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#51 of 69 in Taupo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake

Property: The Lake
Address: 63 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lake, has attention to detail throughout, the Lake is a unique establishment which has achieved the owner's desire to create a motel that doesn't feel like a motel. From its stylish retro decor, to the bird filled gardens, The Lake truly is a boutique motel with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing