We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of The Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lake
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we stayed 3 nights and couldn't fault it, everything was immaculate.

Helen was very helpful and recommended places to eat and all were excellent.
It is a very pleasant 15 min walk to the town,and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edandlizjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
67
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Loved our stay in this motel, lovely and helpful staff, great location and amazing retro furniture!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollograyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Sorry small room. The foot of our bed was only feet away from the public footpath and the road. Didn't enjoy our one night stay at all. Stayed in New Zealand for 3 weeks and this is the only place I would not go back to. Need blackout lining for the curtains as not very thick and let all the light in. Tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne_sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I arrived with the option of a free upgrade from a excellent room to a really excellent room. (particularly exciting since I had never been upgraded in my life!) I had a Living room/kitchen, a bedroom and bathroom. The decor was modern and the small details of how the towels were folded in the bathroom and bedroom...and how things were exquisitly placed in the cupboards just made this hotel a delight to stay in. The kitchen meant I could save a little money and eat in - just perfect. Was a 5 min walk to the lake and about 10/15min to the centre. The host had many recommendations on what to do an discount vouchers for various places...a swim in De Brett's hot spring is perfect for a bit of r and r. If you are looking for a little bit of luxury on your travels this is definitely the place to come. To get this standard in the UK you would be paying hundreds!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We can only add to the previously good reports on this motel, run by a very friendly couple. Our accommodation consisted of a bedroom and a sitting room, both decorated in the signature classy retro style.
Upon arrival the hostess was very ambitious about advising us what to do in the Taupo area and where to have dinner, and we were happy with the recommendations.
Also, when booking (via e-mail) I got swift replies and was pleasantly surprised that I didn’t have to give a credit card number for reservation. It’s so nice to be trusted.
On the minus side, there’s no view and a car is useful since it’s located a residential area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The location is a little out of the centre of town but then the town isn't much anyway. The rooms are good size and when adjusted for the cost are very good value for money. The service is good and the experience very enjoyable. No breakfast though

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our stay at The Lake was lovely and the host was very helpful our first day getting us sorted out with activities. The rooms are very unique and have a kitchen+stove setup which is nice since we found a lot of the restaurants in Taupo to be a bit pricey.

Would definitely stay her again.

NOTE TO ALL THIS IS NOT A B&B, nor do they advertise that they are, it is a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewG_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#13 of 69 in Taupo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#19 of 69 in Taupo
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#45 of 69 in Taupo
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#54 of 69 in Taupo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake

Property: The Lake
Address: 63 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lake, has attention to detail throughout, the Lake is a unique establishment which has achieved the owner's desire to create a motel that doesn't feel like a motel. From its stylish retro decor, to the bird filled gardens, The Lake truly is a boutique motel with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing