We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place Apart from the Norm (and excellent value)”
Review of The Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake Motel
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed for just one night in November during a hiking holiday in New Zealand. This was, quite simply, the place I enjoyed staying most.

As indicated on its website The Lake is different in that its rooms are decorated smartly and in a fun way with retro furnishings reminiscent of the 60's and 70's. It's a great feel and out of the predictable mode for most hotels.

The Lake also benefits from being a small establishment (just 5 units/rooms) and this coupled with the warmth of its owner, Helen, makes the Lake feel personal. It's a place you can easily engage with.

The Lake is a little away from the town centre and this is an advantage because the location is quiet, away from main roads. It is about a 15 minute walk back into town around the lakeshore - or no time at all by car.

Free WiFi was an added bonus. Fresh milk in the fridge is also always nicer than that stuff in little plastic capsules!

For my stay the fee was $150 for a night. This was very good value when compared with the nightly fees I paid elsewhere in New Zealand on this particular journey.

When I booked I noted that The Lake was ranked, on TripAdvisor, as number 4 of places to stay in Taupo. It certainly deserves such a high ranking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

It's a bit out of town so very cosy and peaceful for a night's sleep, but you can walk for 10 minutes and be in the centre of Taupo. Helen is a lovely host, the apartments are spotlessly clean and filled with cool 60s furniture. There's plunger coffee to drink and Helen makes sure you have some milk too. This is a great little spot to base yourselves when exploring the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jpi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Helen was so welcoming, warm and friendly, she went out of her way for us. We had a hiccup and left early in the morning via ambulance, my husband was not well. Helen contacted me twice to check we where ok and asked me for tea and chat if I wanted to have a break from the hospital. I didn't know Helen but I felt like I did, thank you for your care and concern, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed at The Lake with my son and his family for 2 nights in mid April. Our one bedroom apartment was very clean and well maintained. We had everything we needed at a very reasonable price. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nightowl171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very quite & peaceful place, seems like a royal villa, little far from city to relax. Nice person and staff very helpful and understanding. Wanted to stay more but had to head back. Would definetly recommended for holidays!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaldip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My best friend and I had a "girlie" weekend away together in Taupo and we stayed at "The Lake". We just loved our room from first impression and as we explore further we could tell that everything was lovingly and thoughtful selected, put together and presented - right down to the miniature glass milk bottles in the fridge for your cuppa. The unit was immaculately clean. We were in Unit #1. It's only a short taxi ride to town for dinner in the evening, and the stroll to the lake front is easy and pleasant. The host is very personable, lovely and friendly. Most definitely recommend if you are looking for somewhere quiet, and with character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I loved our two night stay at The Lake. The accommodation is just so retro-cool, spotlessly clean, quiet and good value. Also there is only about 5 apartments - I much prefer small establishments! A reasonably central location and just a short 5 min stroll down to the Lake Taupo beachfront (fantastic summer swimming). Everything you could want for a short stay. Jane was a lovely host. So pleased we decided to stay in Taupo rather than Tongariro. Lots more restaurants and nightlife and ofcourse this cute little place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankyFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 68 in Taupo
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#12 of 68 in Taupo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Motel

Address: 63 Mere Road,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £70 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at the coolest boutique Lake Taupo motel – in central Taupo, New Zealand. Our six motel units boast unique retro styling with modern comforts. Your friendly hosts’ local knowledge will ensure that your stay is comfortable and peaceful. Our six rooms are all located on the ground floor, with SKY TV, queen size beds, free WiFi and separate bathrooms. The units all have kitchenettes. We are small enough to provide personalised service and a homely, relaxed atmosphere for your stay. We are well appointed with facilities and can recommend some great local service providers for further needs. From its stylish retro decor, to the bird filled gardens, The Lake Motel is truly a boutique motel with a difference. With attention to detail, mid-century retro styling and art throughout, The Lake Motel is a unique establishment and is NZ’s only motel to have featured in Home & Entertaining, NZ’s top design magazine. We look forward to you visiting us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing