We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room size and great shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good room size and great shower”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our first visit to Chantillys. We found the hosts lovely, the room, a large studio great. We loved the 50+ Sky guest channels, loved the shower and loved the inroom spa.
We recommend this motel because of those features. It is easy walking distance to the CBD, but we were lazy and drove, plus you know we might just want to go somewhere else!
We had views of the mountains which we appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwixp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    51
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
80
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked the Studio Room, it was on the ground floor. The room was very spacious and the biggest studio ive ever stayed in. We got given a big size milk for the night which was a surprise and given we love milk, a nice surprise :)
The staff are friendly and the room was spotless and had great amenitys such as soaps and microwave.
The only let down was that if you leave the bathroom window open and are on the ground floor you will be woken by car doors slamming and people walking past so make sure you shut the window and the bathrooom door before going to bed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top level as you can hear people thumping upstairs and cars starting up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

So my sister and I stayed here 2 nights. Had the 'honeymoon' suite which we found funny but a beautiful room. There is a big spa in the lounge room so you can have a spa bath while watching tv. There is a separate bathroom with a gorgeous, huge shower. Separate bedroom with a huge, comfortable bed. Plus we had the sofa bed in the lounge which I slept in, very comfy. This room had everything we could want. It's like an apartment. Cooking facilities, fridge, dinning area etc. it was on the second floor so it was a little hard to get our suitcases up.
The owners were just lovely and did everything to help.
Overall we had a wonderful stay here...oh we had a balcony that went right around our room. All the rooms on the second floor had balconies and if you ate staying on the ground floor you have a little courtyard.
It's just a very short stroll to town and shops.
Really good value for money....was very impressed with how beautiful our room was and at a great price.
I can't rave about this hotel enough. If you are visiting Taupo you must stay here.
That's right, we had free wifi as well.....it's not the best free wifi but it did our needs. You could only pick it up in certain places in your room so sometimes you had to stand on your head in the kitchen to get reception lol.
I will definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel.....had a blast....had a great sleep....wonderful, wonderful owners. Can't thank them enough for our stay.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite, highly recommend it, there is only one so get in quick. Apart from that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here as a family of four for a weekend away. REALLY NICE PEOPLE - extremely helpful. Their cleaning staff do a great job and were also really lovely to chat to. Nice location, off the main road which is great in terms of 'not being where everyone else is' which I think is a positive. They really do put guests first and that is all to often not experienced. Thanks Chantillys - we had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Our room and bathroom were both spacious, well appointed and clean. Beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. The owners of the motel were both very friendly and helpful in providing us with great suggestions on how to occupy our time in Lake Taupo. I would stay at Chantilly's again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
797 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Chantilly's is out of town and we fell into it because we took a wrong turn. However, it turned out a good omen because the motel has good size rooms and a good bathroom. The usual kitchenette is sufficient for an overnight stay. The accommodation is clean and well kept. One of the problems we had was the lack of designated parking spaces. As my wife is a semi invalid we wanted to park outside or near our unit, but because the disability parking space is slightly larger, it was always taken by other people and I had to park some distance away from our unit whenever we returned to the motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

As we were attending several events at the Great Lake Centre in Taupo, we chose Chantilly's as it was an easy walk from there. We were not disappointed with our choice and we would stay there again without hesitation.
The Studio room was one of the roomiest that we have ever stayed in and was well equipped. Milk was available each day of our stay, free of charge - a nice touch. The bathroom was also a great size. The bed was comfortable and we were not bothered by any traffic noise. We didn't use the pool area but it looked clean and inviting. Being able to park our car off the street was a bonus but the garden in the middle of the parking area had a fence around it which made it fairly difficult to reverse out of the parking spots.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantilly's Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly's Lake Taupo

Property: Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Address: 112 Tamamutu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chantilly's Lake Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantillys is one of Taupo's NEWEST LUXURY Accommodation and Conference Establishments. A 32 unit CITY located complex boasting all the modern fittings expected of a fine Motel. The units are all very SPACIOUS, Beautifully tiled EN-SUITE bathrooms, Kitchenettes with microwaves, New Widescreen TVs, "50 SKY TV CHANNELS",DVD Players, Private courtyards with out door furniture. Some with KING SPA Baths and views over the Lake and Mountains from your private Balcony. Just a 3 or 4 minute stroll to Supermarkets, Shops, Cafes and Restaurants, and only a 2-3 minute drive to to the Lake and many of Taupos Activities and Attractions. Free Parking. Free Wireless Broadband Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chantilly's Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing