We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wharewaka Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wharewaka Lodge
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of our travel agent. It was so welcoming. Great conversation and Susan and Tony are so easy to talk to, though the Americas cup was keeping all Kiwis on the edge of their seats so we learned all about yacht racing.
Every little thing was in place for a perfect stay (except the weather, which always preoccupies us Brits) and we left with some excellent ideas for the next stage of our trip. Thoroughly recommend their lovely B&B lodge.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over a year ago and through all of travels, this has to be one of the top places we have ever stayed mainly due to the wonderful owners who spare nothing to make you feel at home. From the welcome wine and nibbles, the amazing breakfast including fantastic home made muesli, and the great tips on what to do, this was a great experience. Staying at this place is like staying at the home you always dreamed of owning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

They offered wine, conversation and the warmth of their fire on a chilly end of fall day to myself, my husband and our college aged son. The rooms were immaculate and provided views along with every comfort - and even beyond first class comforts like good coffee and chocolates. They too have traveled many, many places and it was great fun to share.

The location is not in town and that worried us to begin with; not a problem in the end at all. Make sure you stay a more than one night. I don't recommend it for small children.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcolljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I found this fabulous jewel on the internet for us another couple to stay for our first few nights in NZ's N. Island. Although we checked in a little too early, we were treated to a lovely welcome by our hosts, the Dalbeys. Their home was built to accommodate a B and B and it is most comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated. Since they are both from the nearby Napier area, they had recommendations for places to eat and things to do. They worked much like a concierge in making arrangements for a rafting trip and making excellent restaurant suggestions. They were so entertaining that we treated them to a dinner out. Beautiful house overlooking the Lake and with amazing gardens on their property. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Wharewaka for a night during our tour of New Zealand. It was a highlight!. Susan and Tony are incredible host and share their beautiful home like you are long lost relatives. The setting and accomodations are first class. We enjoyed a glass of wine and a fantastic trout appetizer before we went out for dinner and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. This is a beautiful place and well worth the money. Our only regret is not staying longer both to enjoy the Taupo area but also Tony and Susan's hospitality. We have friends visiting New Zealand in May and have insisted they make a stop at Wharewaka Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at Wharewaka Lodge for three nights in February 2013. This is a gorgeous private home overlooking Lake Taupo. The rooms are lovely, quiet and well-appointed. The Lodge is located in a very private residential area, but also just a short drive from downtown Taupo and very convenient to the fly-fishing and rafting excursions we arranged with the help of owners Susan and Tony. We were delighted with Wharewaka Lodge and our gracious hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Charming hosts, delightful location and wonderful accommodations. Breakfast each morning was delicious. and hosts made accommodations for all types of diet. Wine and cheese each evening was and added plus. Truly superior!

Room Tip: All rooms are charming and located on the lake front so pool and fitness center was not available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith088_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.2 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharewaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharewaka Lodge

Property: Wharewaka Lodge
Address: 87 Wharewaka Road | Four Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Taupo and enjoy our warm hospitality and boutique lake edge accommodation.All rooms have tea & coffee, ensuite tiled bathrooms with heated floors and towel rails, high quality linen,TV.Experience golf, trout fishing, Tongariro World Heritage Park, thermal parks & spas, wine tour & Maori culture.Dine at a wide choice of nearby restaurants.Relax with pre dinner wine and hors d’oeuvres by the open fire or on the terrace. We serve generous healthy breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing