We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable beds, not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uncomfortable beds, not clean”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend last month and can say that it's without a doubt the worst place we've ever stayed.

The 'superking' (actually two single beds pushed together so that it's really uncomfortable if you go into the middle and discover the gaping gap between) bed was circa the 70s and bowed in the middle. I've never had lower back pain before but a week later I'm still cranking voltarin for my aching back.

The toilet had a sign saying it had been 'hygienically cleaned' but when we lifted the lid it was covered in the previous occupant's urine. So gross!

The door and walls had plastering patched over the walls which made me wonder if their guests are in the habit of kicking them down? Not the greatest first impression of our room...

Other things -no lamps, spa was OK but I was so grossed out by the place I couldn't really enjoy it, TV wouldn't shift on a swivel so was a weird angle to watch, there was mould in the shower and they had signs up about how conscious they are of the environment but had nowhere to recycle -whaaat?

Only thing going for this place is that it's cheap and the staff are nice -that said, I would happily pay double the price to sleep somewhere comfortable -and clean!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hakeber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    82
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
114
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Baywater lovely clean modern furnishings gorgeous view wonderful spa fantastic service friendly comfortable and extremely well priced most definitely will be returning.
Thank you Adelaide and Greg we had a wonderful honeymoon break will be recommending to all our friends

Best wishes .
Paul and Karen Carter

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The place was run down and the plumbing kept us awake at night. It is very poorly finished and not very clean. The bathroom mirror was dirty, there were crumbs from the toaster in the kitchen cupboard and there was a dirty ashtray on the table on the stairway all the time we were there. There were only 4 pillows and they were flat and uncomfortable. The views however were fantastic and it was lovely to sit out on the deck.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed overnight with two small children. Room was well laid out with sep sleeping area for kids. Neutral decor. A little worn but at least that means you can relax a bit more if kids are roaring around. We all enjoyed spa bath. We had friendly welcome from reception. Breakfast menu looked wonderful but we had byo. Would return providing price is right. Nice and quiet as set back off road.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

A friend booked two large family units to accommodate ten females for the Great Lake Relay event...the ONLY good thing about this place was the location...!! Basic facilities simply weren't availble, first night both units were without hot water - this wasn't addressed until 11pm, girls had to start the first leg of the race at 2am so not ideal to have tradesmen making excessive noise in the unit...early Sat morning no power in one of the units...they weren't clean, obvious cobwebs in window, beds not made & rubbish not collected...!! Very strange second bedroom layout, unable to access bathroom / toilet without disturbing those sleeping in this room - another door certainly wouldn't go astray...

Hotel management did offer 10% discount off next stay, which was kindly turned down - I will not be returning...!!

Room Tip: Tip = simple, don't stay here...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikaileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for two nights in a front apartment on the second floor.

Small entrance area - good for leaving your shoes. To the left a very nice bathroom with great water pressure however the shower was VERY small.

Straight ahead from the entrance is the small kitchenette area with microwave. Moving forward you enter the room a small storage area and nice big mirror to the right - to the immediate left is a HUGE spa bath with a good view of the television and ample space next to it to keep the drinks (haha).

Also in the room: a Queen bed, a couch directly facing the nicely sized LCD TV and a small table and chairs under the TV. Lovely view of the lake outside the front with a nice table and chairs to enjoy the view. Nice quiet aircon unit.

The fully cooked breakfast was included in the room price and we weren't disappointed.

All in all, we definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Booked based on photo and four star self rating. very over rated in my opinion. dated, not very clean and basic. i felt mislead! Pleased it was only one night. kids enjoyed the heated pool
And seperate room with tv!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bells73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#12 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#19 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Property: Baywater Lakeview Motel
Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Family Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing