We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
2 reviews
“Most beautiful view.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had the most awesome 5 day stay here..woke up and made myself a coffee and strolled down to the water front and enjoyed the fresh air and wonderful views..The service and company such lovely and friendly people..Thanks so much you guyz ROCK.

Room Tip: Higher floors with awesome views, back units still have a good view of the lake, and just a short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 243Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your most welcome review. It was also nice for us to have you stay here with us and yes we do have a special place with a wonderful out look. Look forward to your next visit. Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    82
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
114
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Its the little things that count that make the property special and the lack of a fan in the bathroom to eliminate steam and no tissues were surprising for a property of this standard.
On the positive side the room was lovely with good views of the lake, very clean and tidy and well presented. The spa functioned well even with a couple of the jets not working at full capacity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kasper454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What's not to like! The room had everything you could ask for. A wonderful, wonderful view from the balcony. Sure there was road noise but you would expect that given the location. We took ear plugs and had no issue at night. There is a mini kitchenette, fully stocked dining items and a nice new fit out. The only downside, and I would be a minority, was the bed was too hard for my liking. However that is personal preference and no reflection on the room. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MostlyShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We sat on our terrace sipping red wine and watching IMNZ competitors run their marathon - what a treat. This place is an easy walk to town, handy for a dip in the lake, has good water and mountain views and is administered by very friendly managers. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to soak in the luxurious looking spa bath but will come back and do so next time. It has a well appointed kitchen, nice strong shower and is freshly and very tastefully decorated. We would thoroughly recommend Baywater Lakeview Motel, Taupo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WillsWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here during IMNZ and the place was perfect. we were right opposite the lake and walked across the road to do so. We were in walking distance of the town and local amenities.
The motel was very clean and modern and we had a massive spa bath in our room. the managers were friendly and helpful and I would recommend to anyone. We certainly will be returning

Room Tip: we were waterside overlooking Lake Taupo with views of Mt Ruapehu in the distance. The walls aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Full_noise_duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a Great weekend and enjoyed Ironman. We look forward to you staying with us again. Kind Regards, Steve and Lynda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Bedroom and lounge into one including jacozi.
Jocozi not in working order.
location is great. Lake view is too good. Specially the distance to lake is just a few steps. One can enjoy the beautiful views from balcony of the rooms as well

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husaini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you Husaini for your review. We are always looking to see what we can do better and your comments help in this way. We have replaced the switch on the Spa Bath as it was sticking and at times did make it hard to turn on. Again appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying at Baywater Lakeview Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at the Baywater Lakeview Motel in December 2013 over the new years period for a couple of nights. Our check-in was prompt and trouble free, and once completed we were shown to our room and had the general facilities explained.

The Baywater Lakeview Motel is located right on the lake front so a short stroll and you are on the lake. It is on a busy road so crossing can take a bit of time depending on the time of day, but its not really an in convenience when you can be swimming in less than 5 minutes (and no long damp drive back to your hotel).

We were in one of the rooms in the front building and upon entering the room were rewarded with a great view of lake Taupo. The rooms have recently been refurbished, so it was in immaculate condition. The highlights of the room would be the large spa bath located next to the bed, and the double sliding doors that open on to the deck with the views of the lake. The room was rounded out with a large TV (on a wall bracket - so the direction can be moved), a 2 element cook top and all the cutlery (x4) / pots / plates (x4) you might need. Finally a separate shower / toilet area was located back near the entrance.

The Spa bath could easily fit 2-4 people and is tucked away in a corner near the bed. It has the usual abundant supply of hot water to fill it and massage jets to use while in it. The TV can be turned to face the SPA so you can take in a movie while soaking away.

The sliding doors leading onto the deck are double glazed so eliminate all roadside noise when closed, however when open it can be quite loud as the road outside is a main one. Overall having the doors open with the view and sunlight coming in outweighs any noise you might hear. The deck is big enough to fit two chairs and a small table with room either side, so it is perfect to side and watch the boats / swimmers while having a beer or wine. Privacy on the decks is an issue but oh well, to be expected.

The only real complaint I could make about the room would be shower and toilet facilities being oddly cheap and flimsy looking but they were both still functional. Upon first use of the shower we found it to still contain sand from a previous stay but nothing that leaving it running for 1-2 mins couldn't solve.

Overall a good stay and will now be our go to place to stay in Taupo

Room Tip: The front building is on the road, so can be a bit loud. It makes up for this with the view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlawlessStevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Property: Baywater Lakeview Motel
Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Family Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing