We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are freshly decorated; each room has a spa pool overlooking the lake and when it gets dark, a decent size TV makes an alternative view from the pool. Really decent motel but the beds are a bit hard and the pillows are awfully hard - recommend you bring your own

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RestnRecreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for you comments on your recent stay with us.We are sorry to hear that the bed and pillows were too hard for you. We have tried to get the best possible beds and pillows for our quests Thank you once again for staying with us. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This was the second best accomodation we had during our trip. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The ocean view is visible from everywhere in the room. I kicked back nearly every afternoon in the hottub watching the tv and enjoying the views. Sunset was my favourite time of the day it's just indescribable. Definately a lovely place to stay. Highly reccomended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Linda, Thank you for your wonderful comments.Steve and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope to see you again one day.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A wonderful, wonderful view from the balcony.very clean and tidy and well presented
The service and company such lovely and friendly people Thanks for that, much appreciated
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi David. Thank you for your wonderful comments. It was great to host you and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had the most awesome 5 day stay here..woke up and made myself a coffee and strolled down to the water front and enjoyed the fresh air and wonderful views..The service and company such lovely and friendly people..Thanks so much you guyz ROCK.

Room Tip: Higher floors with awesome views, back units still have a good view of the lake, and just a short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 243Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your most welcome review. It was also nice for us to have you stay here with us and yes we do have a special place with a wonderful out look. Look forward to your next visit. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Its the little things that count that make the property special and the lack of a fan in the bathroom to eliminate steam and no tissues were surprising for a property of this standard.
On the positive side the room was lovely with good views of the lake, very clean and tidy and well presented. The spa functioned well even with a couple of the jets not working at full capacity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kasper454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What's not to like! The room had everything you could ask for. A wonderful, wonderful view from the balcony. Sure there was road noise but you would expect that given the location. We took ear plugs and had no issue at night. There is a mini kitchenette, fully stocked dining items and a nice new fit out. The only downside, and I would be a minority, was the bed was too hard for my liking. However that is personal preference and no reflection on the room. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MostlyShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We sat on our terrace sipping red wine and watching IMNZ competitors run their marathon - what a treat. This place is an easy walk to town, handy for a dip in the lake, has good water and mountain views and is administered by very friendly managers. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to soak in the luxurious looking spa bath but will come back and do so next time. It has a well appointed kitchen, nice strong shower and is freshly and very tastefully decorated. We would thoroughly recommend Baywater Lakeview Motel, Taupo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WillsWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 68 in Taupo
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.8 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#38 of 68 in Taupo
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 68 in Taupo
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing