We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a regular now going elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A lovely motel, with fantastic views of the lake. Great spa bath in the middle of the room. Has been a wonderful motel for me when travelling with business and personal. Unfortunately new manager does not seem to be interested in looking after clients. Have been made to feel second class, which considering I stay every month all year round is quite rude. Prices have been put up with no notice, the price is not the issue just the customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petti77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I was not rude to you when discussing the price increase on your arrival, I explained that the prices had been increased for Corporate Rates last year and to fall into line with all other Corporates we had to increase your rates also. Yes, in hindsight I could have phoned you to let you know, this I apologise for and will keep this in mind if our prices increase again. Sorry that you feel you now have to go elsewhere due to the increase.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at Baywater Queens Birthday weekend, we had an awesome weekend in Taupo and Highly recommend this motel, service and staff were great, can't wait to go back again. We stayed 2 nights in an apartment with a spa bath , rooms were clean and well serviced, thanks team .

Room Tip: Apartments are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LynTePuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Their catch phrase "Enter as strangers and leave as friends" is so true.

They are really nice units with a great view of the lake.

We arrived late on a stop over on a trip from Auckland to Wellington.We had a hiccup with the hot water and Stephen went to great lengths outside his normal hours to help us out.

I would thoroughly recommend their service to anyone. Our only regret was we would've liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatherley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have been stay in this motel 3 times over couple of years. Love the moden room, spa and the amazing view.
This time we stay 2 nights and have a little issue. We got a bottle of milk when check in at the frist day and didn't get another one on seconed day. So I asked the man at reception. He gave me one but he said it have write in the book only get milk when check in if we need more will pay $1 extra for each. This is not about the one dollar. Just I don't understand this why we pay for same price every day but only get one milk. What if we stay 5 nights and more? still one milk? Think about that, same pepole but if we are separated book for two nights and check-in once each day. He have to give us one milk each day, right?
Overall I am happy with the room and would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Have been stay in all 3 different level. all rooms have great view of the beautiful lake and was wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved staying here, the rooms are modern, clean, has everything you could possibly need and the spa gives it that little extra touch for that relaxing weekend away. The owners were very friendly and more than accommodating. With only a hop skip and a jump to the water and a short walk or taxi ride to town the Baywater is definitely a great choice for your stay in Taupo. They are the top of my list for my next stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelzMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was an excellent motel. Very pleasant and helpful owners. Loved everything about the room - the view was amazing. The chocolates a charming extra touch. The restaurant recommendations were very good. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Quite happy with our stay in Taupo. The room we stayed in had a great view of the beautiful lake and was within walking distance of many food places.
The room was set up nicely with a massive spa which was lovely to relax in after a long day of activities.
The only problem I had was it was advertised as free wifi on the hotels website but did not say how much wifi could be used. My partner and I were given a password each for 100mb of data and after uploading photos and checking emails/contacting family back home over seas, our Internet disappeared quickly. My partner asked at reception if we could have some more data but the man at the front desk had a go at my partner saying that the wifi costs the hotel owners alot of money. He did give us more data though but the point is that it shouldn't be advertised as free data if the useage limit is next to nothing..
Overall I am still happy with the room, very clean and modern for $160 p/night

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Regarding the Wifi, yes we do have free Wifi up to 100Mb per day. When your partner came down to the office to obtain more Wifi it was on the same day (and only some 4 - 5 hours later) after receiving the first for the day, but as you stated we did give additional usage vouchers. Sorry if this was not explained to you earlier. Regards Steve and Lynda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#40 of 68 in Taupo
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#13 of 68 in Taupo
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Family Hotel in Taupo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £59 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing