We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joke!”
Review of Oasis Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Not a "Beach Resort"..... Rocky lake access, terribly cramped rooms, rediculous 60ies bathroom and lumpy bed to match! Extraordinarily overpriced ...... pics in advert very misleading! Not going to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patob-in-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is basic but has all the essentials and a nice view from lake front rooms. Pool and spa are nice and staff are excellent. do not expect a big hotel and people to run around after you - if you want that go to one and pay the price - do not expect to pay a good rate and expect the world. They have hit the mark for service, quality and customer service for the price and location.

Room Tip: I liked the lake front rooms but to save a little take a room near pool but request one away from po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneToBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After driving fron Wellington, it was nice to be greated by a friendly proprietor who welcomed us to view the 2 bedroom unit on the lake front. Lovely unit and great views and very reasonable. We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant next door before retiring for the night.

Only downside was wi-fi ..... free access would make the stay 110%. Highly recommend :)

Room Tip: One washing machine and dryer so you need to be mindful of others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

What your paying for here is the location to the lake and the swiming pool. It is overpriced. The rooms are fine but are a bit outdated you do expect a bit more for the price. Beds very comfy swiming pool is beautiful and warm very nice at night. The pool is the saving grace. The property next door is nice pool is not much different from oasis though. Two bedroom apartment is small. No freezer so dont buy anything that needs freezing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshnz44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Modern well set out rooms, very clean and functional. Not overly big rooms but practical design. Heated pool is great. Adjoining restaurant is fantastic, some of the best meals we have had for a very very long time.
Will definitely stay here again.
Forgot to say the service is great - very friendly & helpful management. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Lake front or rooms at the far end of the pool are a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEANDMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I have stayed at the Oasis Beach Resort several times now and each time I stay there I am never dissapointed. The 2 bedroom lake front rooms are a fantastic location, the rooms are always immaculately clean and the beds are very comfortable. The ducks are very familar and do like to come up to the door for a wee nose around so have your bread ready :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

To say the online photos are misleading is well....misleading. The 1960s shack style motel rooms are NOT apartments. The old louvre windows speak for themselves -
I am not unaccustomed to seeking budget holiday accommodation, especially having travelled at peak season with children and this motel may have once been a happy holiday waterside accommodation - but this is not what I booked and paid for.
I even went as far as giving management the opportunity to find a suitable room for me to sleep in (I was travelling with a friend and he was ok about staying on in the QS bed but the 3/4 size singles with springs sticking out where not suitable for me)
At $190 and $170 per night in off peak (normally $280) this is not value for money.
The motel is owned by the millennium next door so the kindly offered us a room for the night there (two double beds in 1 room) for an extra fee - did I mention I booked a '2 bedroom apartment?'
The poor reception girl was polite and delightful and followed managements instructions. We settled for a full refund via wotif as it was a genuine complaint.
Upside - sorry guys can't think of a thing, there are just to many nice places to stay in taupo without having to settle for a shack that's waiting to be bulldozed for the next grand lakeside development

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aprila070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Resort

Address: 241 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#27 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £66 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oasis Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Taupo, the Oasis Resort has outstanding views of the lake and mountains, metres from the hot water beach. The complex has facilities to accommodate everyone.Relax in the large heated swimming pool, or unwind in the indoor or outdoor spas. Enjoy a game of tennis or a beautiful scenic walk along the water's edge. Treat the family to a meal at one of our two adjacent restaurants. Only minutes away from many local attractions and with off-street parking, the resort is very conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Taupo
Oasis Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing