We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost in the water”
Review of Oasis Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The best thing about this motel was that it is right by the lake. We only had to walk 15m and we were swimming in the lake ( in a spot where geothermal hot water kept your feet warm)
The views were marvellous. If you're big on privacy thepublic path that is 5m from your room might be daunting but we enjoyed sitting on our porch and saying good morning to passing joggers. The rooms was fine but not spectacular however the outside area was great

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajn287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

Highly recommended. The room is small but has high ceiling. So it doesn't suffocate you. It is old fashioned but has style. The management owns the millennium hotel next door so the housekeeping etc have a good standard. Also we are told we have access to the pool in the Millenium hotel. We paid $260NZD for Wednesday and Thursday.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Oasis has a cute 60s style, tastefully updated with all the mod-cons. It has gorgeous lakefront rooms (with flexible rates when it's not too busy) and other rooms facing the pool which look nice too and have even nicer decor than the lakefront rooms with new showers and granite benchtops. Unfortunately the motel is between State Highway 1 and the lake so the rooms which are not lakefront could be noisy. Ours wasn't at all though.

Oasis has a private spa you can book, an outdoor yearround heated pool, a tennis court, a billiard room, and you are steps away from the lake. The Oasis adjoins the Millenium/Manuel Hotel and you can use their facilities too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akatherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed here for only one night in a lake front unit, it cost $145 for four of us. The unit wasn't very large but adequate and right on the lake edge. When you stay at the oasis you also have access to the facilities next door at Manuels Millenium next door which was great. Oasis also has a heated pool, spa and games room which was great for our teenage boys. It wasn't too far out of town and I would stay again. The units are older, quite 70's style but have been refurbished.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naki45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

accom in nz is usually a bit hmmm. we've stayed at many taupo hotels and this was by far our fave even tho its a motel by definition. a small capsule community, chilled out groovy. quiet. we paid 175 - excellent value compared to others. location good. rooms more france in size than usa but we didnt mind - you dont stay here to hide in your room! only complaint was bed a bit soft. thought decor ok and i am generally annoyingly picky in this department - its not meant to be 7 star. will stay again and sorry we didnt find it sooner.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I paid $145.00 per night for a 2 bdrm lakefront,five steps away frm the lake..abit out in the open,but it is available to the public as a there is a walkway that leads right into town which is handy.
The rms are nice but a tad small,good for 2ad and 2 small children,or 2 ad and 1 teenager.The decor is well done.wonderful veiws and the lake is beautiful (even though we couldnt swim in it)the staff was great and very helpful.my girls loved it..I would stay there again provided i dont have to pay no more than $200!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed about 10 yards away from the lake. Sublime, fantastic views. Room itself was a bit poky and on the small side. But worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
1.4 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#12 of 68 in Taupo
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Beach Resort

Address: 241 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oasis Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Taupo, the Oasis Resort has outstanding views of the lake and mountains, metres from the hot water beach. The complex has facilities to accommodate everyone.Relax in the large heated swimming pool, or unwind in the indoor or outdoor spas. Enjoy a game of tennis or a beautiful scenic walk along the water's edge. Treat the family to a meal at one of our two adjacent restaurants. Only minutes away from many local attractions and with off-street parking, the resort is very conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Beach Hotel Taupo
Oasis Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing