We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new fav spot in taupo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our new fav spot in taupo”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I booked this place for a large group of friends for the weekend. It was a really cool place, awesome value for money and and awesome customer service. The in room spas are just the best after a cold day in taupo!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2banga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    133
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
82
156
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great place to stay. Rachel in reception was very helpful. She even remembered us from our stay last year.
Close to town and the lake. Unit (2 bedroom, self catering) was very modern, very clean and well stocked.

Room Tip: Family units are very spacious and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngahuia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great staff who couldn't be more helpful. Our room was a family room and had a separate room which was a bonus rather that all of us being in one room. It was clean and comfortable and close to town. Our breakfast the following morning was lovely. A great start to our day for our onward journey down south.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for one night as I had an exam in taupo, my mum was with me and we arrived early. Cold day so went to drop off our bags and mum was going to have to walk around town until check in, however they were so accommodating we checked in at 10am! Thank you so much what a difference it made to our day. We couldn't decided what milk they have us both, it's the little things too! Room 13, great room watched the world go by and quiet and could see the lake! Great nights sleep and bacon and eggs delivered in the morning for free! Great location will be back with kids as a good value famil room serrated bedroom with 2 singles for kids. Plus convienience of stove top etc! I travel a lot and this place is great! Some people are just nit picky,trust me good value here :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I can't fault the staff who were helpful, friendly and accommodating. However, the room itself needed some attention for the price that it was. The bed needed replaced. We placed towels and a pillow under the mattress to fill the hollow of the sagging mattress. The power socket next to the bed you could almost pull off the wall and the sliding door unto the bathroom was tight and tricky enough to open. A little maintenance and the room would have been near perfect. Loved the spa bath - a real highlight.

Room Tip: Upstairs for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Lake Taupo Motor Inn for 2 nights with our two small kids. They had a family unit with 2 bedrooms available, which was our preference with the kids and the location was great, within easy walking distance to town and lake. On first inspection, the unit was superficially clean, but there was trouble ahead. It didn't take long to discover hairs in the bathroom, stains on the couch, a shower head that was falling to bits and bedside lights that didn't work. There was also an aggressively noisy fan in the toilet, which came automatically on with the light so no option to turn off. Not only was it so noisy that it scared the kids, but the noise travelled so well that it was abundantly obvious when the neighbours were in their loo too. Thin walls ensured that other noises from adjacent units kept us entertained overnight as well. Wifi coverage was so intermittent that it was useless and the "heated" swimming pool was nothing of the sort. Thankfully, we only discovered when doing the last check for left behind belongings before departure the extent of the grime, with what appeared to be months worth of rubbish under the couch and beds. Sorry to say that we would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexwallace_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived earlier than expected; no problems. Good aspect for sun, great spa and the rooms were very clean and everything you would expect was there and well maintained. Excellent location to lake and town.The cooked breakfast was perfect and delivered exactly when they said it would. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John123123123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#25 of 69 in Taupo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo Motor Inn

Property: Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Address: 33 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Taupo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Motor Inn has 32 luxourious & well appointed rooms situated on a side street off the main highway and only 300m away from the CBD & Lake. We also have an on-site restaurant, heated pool and 2 spa's for your convenience. Our Executive Spa Suites also have a view of the Lake and Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lake Taupo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Taupo Motor Hotel Taupo
Lake Taupo Hotel
Lake Taupo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing