We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Unit very small. No coffee tables in lounge/dining area and for 4 adults there was only a very shabby 2 seater couch and 1 small armchair. Bedside lights only worked via wall switch. For the price we paid we did expect better. $642 for 3 nights ! No TV1 2 or 3 available on bedroom telly. Not what we expected as per internet .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We've stayed here twice now with a year in between and found it enjoyable each time, the rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable and the staff are welcoming.

We'd stay here again when visiting Taupo.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a spa bath which is great for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Quiet away from the main street along the lake, very comfortable beds, I slept very well. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean as you expect it. Good value. Short walk to lake and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Miguel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were really satisfied with our stay here. Room was exactly as described. For the price we were more than happy especially with a in room spa. We also got a free cooked breakfast for booking online. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosè F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We came here for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and getting sleep was paramount before and after that grueling hike. This place was perfect. Had a little kitchen and fridge too, and was ten mins walk from a super cheap and well stocked supermarket (Pak n Save). We were on a second floor room behind the parking lot.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for only one night and would recommend the inn to others. It is only a very short walk to town and the lake. Room was quiet as the Inn is not on the main road into Taupo but a few streets back. The receptionist very welcoming. Lovely spa tub in room. Very clean. Comfortable bed and lovely hot shower. Small private verandah where you can sit and have a drink.
It was fully booked but it wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: We were upstairs so had a view of the lake and mountains in the distance which you wouldn't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We were looking for lodging walking distance to the center of town and with a lake view, so we tried this -- and did not like it. First, though, I'd like to note that the two duty managers we dealt with were nice and helpful.

Anyone looking for lodging with a river view should realize there are very few options in town. Since the town is flat and there are no tall buildings, virtually the only places with good views are the ones right on the road across from the lake (or out of town).

This lodge is set farther back, so even the best 2nd floor rooms have obscured views.

Additionally, the Executive Spa Suite is not a suite. It is a studio with a bathroom and kitchenette area between the bedroom and bathroom. The spa tub is in the bedroom.

There are no drawers or shelves for clothes, and the pillows are very low quality.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenTLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#40 of 68 in Taupo
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.6 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo Motor Inn

Address: 33 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Taupo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Motor Inn has 32 luxourious & well appointed rooms situated on a side street off the main highway and only 300m away from the CBD & Lake. We also have an on-site restaurant, heated pool and 2 spa's for your convenience. Our Executive Spa Suites also have a view of the Lake and Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Taupo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Taupo Motor Hotel Taupo
Lake Taupo Hotel
Lake Taupo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing