We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place with great welcome”
Review of Chalet Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Eiger
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perfect place with great welcome”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Chalet Eiger. We were firstly greeted with a fantastic fruit tart created by Hea Min. The taste was so delicious, reflecting Hea Min's obvious superb cooking, we rather wished we had arranged to eat at the chalet in the evening instead of in Taupo itself as the restaurant we picked in the centre was disappointing. If only we had listened to the witty Emil in the first place we would have taken his advice on where to eat! The room itself was lovely with great views, private balcony and even a bottle of wine to drink in peace on our perfectly positioned balcony. We also really appreciated our room having a bath as well as a shower (seemingly a rarity in New Zealand) in the room. We really started to feel we were on holiday after staying here. Thank you very much Emil and Hea Min.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Lake Taupo is beautiful, but Taupo accommodations can be a bit "touristy" -- Chalet Eiger is the ideal solution. Outside of the bustle of Taupo, in the decidedly more refined Acacia Bay, Emil and Hea Min have created a marvel of hospitality . . . impeccably clean rooms, charming hosts, an inspired Christmas dinner that featured fine food and a lot of fun.

Wonderfully quiet, amazingly clean (the Swiss heritage shows here), wonderful snacks with tea in the afternoon, excellent internet connection (worth mentioning in NZ, where Internet tends to be pretty poor), and beautiful views of Lake Taupo.

Recommended, and I'd underline how much more you'll like Acacia Bay than the town of Taupo . . .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chalet Eiger for three nights including Christmas day; there is only one word that describes the whole experience ''FANTASTIC''. The quality of the rooms and facilities is on par with any London 5 star hotel but peaceful!! Our hosts Emil and Hea Min were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely and Emil kept the wine flowing throughout Christmas day..... If we ever get a chance to travel back to New Zealand this is a ''Must Stay Accommodation. A big thank you to you both for a memorable Christmas.

H & Y

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expatman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I needed a peaceful trip away from hectic Auckland. Hosts Hea Min and Emil made our stay incredibly enjoyable. They tailored our menu to suit our preferences and spoilt us rotten! The rooms had an amazing view of the lake and were immaculate. We were sad to leave as we enjoyed their company and passion to make us feel at home. Well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Chalet Eiger provides fabulous & friendly accommodation with beautiful views

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessieRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Chalet Eiger recently and had a lovely time. Emil and Hea Min were wonderful hosts and their attention to detail and warm personalities made this a memorable experience. Being well out of town it is very quiet, and the peaceful surrounds and excellent bedding meant we had the best sleeps of our holiday. The food is creatively cooked and presented. Hea Min cooked us and the other guests a surprise seafood dinner, all of the courses were perfect and the whole evening was very enjoyable.

This was by far the most expensive place we stayed at during a 2 week trip to the North Island, but it was worth every cent given the whole experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ruepehu room for its wonderful spa eb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at Chalet Eiger for two nights during our honeymoon in New Zealand, and we are so glad that we did. The accommodation itself is very impressive, with luxurious bathrooms, integrated stereo systems in the rooms, a large relaxing lounge and impressive dining area. But the real highlights were (i) the amazing hospitality of Emil and Hea Min and (ii) the food. Emil and Hea Min are incredibly nice people, very approachable and happy to help with any tips and suggestions you may need. On our first night at Chalet Eiger, we had an incredible 5 course meal cooked by Hea Min, which exceeded anything we've ever had in any restaurants in London - all served with great affection and warmth by Emil, which made for the most perfect evening.

We would definitely recommed Chalet Eiger, and will make sure we build it in to our itinerary next time we venture to New Zealand.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,081 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.9 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Loft
The Loft
#42 of 69 in Taupo
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Eiger

Property: Chalet Eiger
Address: 534 Gillespie Place | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalet Eiger 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Eiger offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment with lake and mountain views. Chalet Eiger’s location makes it perfectly situated for easy access to the many activities in the surrounding area. The Kiwi-influenced cuisine utilizes home grown and locally sourced organic produce with an excellent selection of New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing