We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Chalet Eiger”
Review of Chalet Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Eiger
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Chalet Eiger in Taupo, New Zealand, and felt like family as soon as we met the owners, Emil and Hea Min. If you are looking for a lovely Bed and Breakfast where every little detail has been thought of to make your stay exceptional then I can recommend the Chalet. The accommodation and food were exceptional!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TadHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Chalet Eiger, using it as a home base to explore the greater New Zealand Taupo region.

To jump right to the conclusion, we found this B&B to be absolutely perfect - the best we have seen in NZ. Thus if you are coming to this region and desire the absolute top in accommodation and service, I heartily recommend it.

Read on for the details ...

The house is beautiful and situated high above the lake, offering a beautiful vantage point over the area. The rooms themselves are absolutely immaculate and very roomy and well-laid out. There's no lack of closet space or elbow space. And the beds are amazing - we couldn't believe how comfortable they were and now are seriously considering getting the same brand for our own house.

No detail is overlooked - everything is done correctly at a high European level. To cite just one small example: they had a shower cap in the bathroom. A trivial thing perhaps, but in all our travels to Australasia we've never seen one included (my wife always had to ask). And this attention to detail was universal. We really couldn't find fault in anything - and we are very picky.

Another nice touch is that the bathrooms have giant jacuzzis or soaking tubs. I found that and a glass of wine to be a fitting end to a long physical day of Taupo activities.

The service was also perfect and all requests were promptly fulfilled. Emil and Hea Min are simply wonderful hosts. They took excellent care of us in all respects.

Eat at the Chalet! We reserved dinner for the first night as we knew we would be tired from a hard day of driving. We weren't sure of the wisdom of this decision, inasmuch as their dinners are pricy and we frankly doubted they could possibly be worth the cost. But we were wrong: the food is at a gourmet level and worth every cent. In fact, we enjoyed it so much that we had dinner again on our last night. Emil and Hea Min are truly talented chefs and - if you appreciate fine dining - their cooking really isn't to be missed.

In short, I can't say enough good things about the place. We'll certainly be returning.

One warning: while driving to this B&B, take very good care that you have directions in hand. The roads up the hill are quite confusing, particularly at night. We got turned around multiple times. So make sure you have a good map and navigator with you, plus the number to the B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakapo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I was recently in New Zealand for a short holiday and was luck enough to find Chalet Eiger in Taupo.
Having travelled throughout New Zealand on many occasions and stayed at the top lodges, Chalet Eiger I believe is far superior to most of the 5 Star lodges.
It is set in Acacia Bay , a beautiful part of Taupo and has beautiful views.
The accommodation is extremely comfortable and the hospitality shown by the owners is fantastic.
Food is top standard equaly to most Relais and Chateaux hotels in Europe..
Certainly one of the BEST in New Zealand.
Marcus M
Black Rock
VIC..Australia

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc_moss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Chalet Eiger. We were firstly greeted with a fantastic fruit tart created by Hea Min. The taste was so delicious, reflecting Hea Min's obvious superb cooking, we rather wished we had arranged to eat at the chalet in the evening instead of in Taupo itself as the restaurant we picked in the centre was disappointing. If only we had listened to the witty Emil in the first place we would have taken his advice on where to eat! The room itself was lovely with great views, private balcony and even a bottle of wine to drink in peace on our perfectly positioned balcony. We also really appreciated our room having a bath as well as a shower (seemingly a rarity in New Zealand) in the room. We really started to feel we were on holiday after staying here. Thank you very much Emil and Hea Min.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Lake Taupo is beautiful, but Taupo accommodations can be a bit "touristy" -- Chalet Eiger is the ideal solution. Outside of the bustle of Taupo, in the decidedly more refined Acacia Bay, Emil and Hea Min have created a marvel of hospitality . . . impeccably clean rooms, charming hosts, an inspired Christmas dinner that featured fine food and a lot of fun.

Wonderfully quiet, amazingly clean (the Swiss heritage shows here), wonderful snacks with tea in the afternoon, excellent internet connection (worth mentioning in NZ, where Internet tends to be pretty poor), and beautiful views of Lake Taupo.

Recommended, and I'd underline how much more you'll like Acacia Bay than the town of Taupo . . .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chalet Eiger for three nights including Christmas day; there is only one word that describes the whole experience ''FANTASTIC''. The quality of the rooms and facilities is on par with any London 5 star hotel but peaceful!! Our hosts Emil and Hea Min were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely and Emil kept the wine flowing throughout Christmas day..... If we ever get a chance to travel back to New Zealand this is a ''Must Stay Accommodation. A big thank you to you both for a memorable Christmas.

H & Y

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expatman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I needed a peaceful trip away from hectic Auckland. Hosts Hea Min and Emil made our stay incredibly enjoyable. They tailored our menu to suit our preferences and spoilt us rotten! The rooms had an amazing view of the lake and were immaculate. We were sad to leave as we enjoyed their company and passion to make us feel at home. Well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.9 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 42 in Taupo
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 34 in Taupo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Eiger

Address: 534 Gillespie Place | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £221 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalet Eiger 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Eiger offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment with lake and mountain views. Chalet Eiger’s location makes it perfectly situated for easy access to the many activities in the surrounding area. The Kiwi-influenced cuisine utilizes home grown and locally sourced organic produce with an excellent selection of New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing