We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taupo Visit”
Review of Chalet Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Eiger
Ranked #13 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taupo Visit”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have stayed in Taupo before mostly near The Lake which means great views - The Chalet is set on a height with glimpses of The Lake so a pleasant outlook without being stunning. Emil and Hea Min are excellent hosts with everything running to precision, and the property is meticously presented though it does feel a little "fussy" - which isn't really a problem. We did feel that it was a bit over priced compared to other 5 star lodges we have stayed in. Taupo is an excellent location for many activities including golf which is our main interest.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Olive and Trevor, it was a real pleasure to be your host here at Chalet Eiger for a short time (one night). We had the impression that you both are a lovely couple and we are sorry that we didn't had the chance to know you better. We hope that you will find your way back to Taupo in the future. Taupo is not only a nature paradise but also golfer's haven with 5 golf courses (2 international). All the best
Emil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

For a start Lake Taupo is a great destination. As good as if not better than Queenstown. Lake, scenery, activities and more. How better to spend a long weekend than at the Chalet. Food was fantastic. Particularly the degustation dinner. Very comfortable room. Emil and Hea are lovely people and great hosts. Emil has lots of tourist ideas as well.
Mike and Jan

Room Tip: Just do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Mike and Jan, we appreciate you response and the time you have taken to write this review. We agree with you that the Lake Taupo area is a very special place and we are very proud to live here. You both know very well New Zealand so your comments about Taupo are highly regarded. We are very happy that Hea Min’s cuisine finds such praise, knowing that you have enjoyed finest during your stays in different parts of world. We hope you to see you again and hopefully you will try time fly fishing in the pristine Taupo rivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Amazing food- Hea Min is an exceptional chef, lovely attentive hosts and beautiful location- couldn't have asked for more for a perfect honeymoon. The room was lovely and Emil and Hea Min ensured that we felt relaxed and welcome in their wonderful home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Michelle and Derek, it was nice to read your review about your stay at Chalet Eiger. We are always very happy to prepare special gourmet dinner for our guests. We are going an extra mile to source the best NZ produce and also using our own vegetables from our garden. Surely also the seasonal approach in the preparation for the meals play its role. You both are very happy young couple and have big projects in your mind and we are convinced that you will have happy life together with your children. We hope to see you one day again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Chalet is a modern house a bit outside of Taupo. You definitely need a car if you want to stay there. They welcome you with very nice details, for example a flag of your country (I am from Costa Rica, so that's impressive), a delicious homemade tea and cookies. The rooms are perfect, the beds are perfect, no noise at all, great view, bathtop (which is not easy to find in NZ), and music everywhere ( what you like in every room) it is a very impressive system.
We also had dinner there one night. Hae Min is the best cook ever, the breakfasts are already amazing, but the dinner is just flawless. You must know it is not a restaurant, they will cook for you and that's it it is great for romance! We had the most relaxing time and are definitely going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvestrito48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Silvia and Joerg. What a pleasure to meet you both and be your hosts for a while. With such a beautiful couple like you we are always reminded while we are doing this hosting business. We are very much pleased that you have enjoyed our cuisine. It is an both way road because we are enjoying cooking for quests who appreciate all the efforts put in the preparation and presentation of the dishes. When you have returned with your mother from Germany to celebrate her 70-tiest birthday we felt that you are a part of our family. Take care to each other and we hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at Chalet Eiger and were overwhelmed by the hospitality shown us by our hosts, Emil and Hea Min, followed closely by the succulent food and luxurious suites, which were completely without ostentation and yet every feature was just perfect- from the underfloor heating to the spa bath, from the beautifully executed lighting to the Finnish stove to keep us cosily warm. We truly felt we were back in Europe, feeling pampered and surrounded by everything we could ask for. We highly recommend anyone wanting a very special experience in the heart of New Zealand. Chalet Eiger is, quite simply, superior.
NG, London

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Chalet Eiger in Taupo, New Zealand, and felt like family as soon as we met the owners, Emil and Hea Min. If you are looking for a lovely Bed and Breakfast where every little detail has been thought of to make your stay exceptional then I can recommend the Chalet. The accommodation and food were exceptional!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TadHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Chalet Eiger, using it as a home base to explore the greater New Zealand Taupo region.

To jump right to the conclusion, we found this B&B to be absolutely perfect - the best we have seen in NZ. Thus if you are coming to this region and desire the absolute top in accommodation and service, I heartily recommend it.

Read on for the details ...

The house is beautiful and situated high above the lake, offering a beautiful vantage point over the area. The rooms themselves are absolutely immaculate and very roomy and well-laid out. There's no lack of closet space or elbow space. And the beds are amazing - we couldn't believe how comfortable they were and now are seriously considering getting the same brand for our own house.

No detail is overlooked - everything is done correctly at a high European level. To cite just one small example: they had a shower cap in the bathroom. A trivial thing perhaps, but in all our travels to Australasia we've never seen one included (my wife always had to ask). And this attention to detail was universal. We really couldn't find fault in anything - and we are very picky.

Another nice touch is that the bathrooms have giant jacuzzis or soaking tubs. I found that and a glass of wine to be a fitting end to a long physical day of Taupo activities.

The service was also perfect and all requests were promptly fulfilled. Emil and Hea Min are simply wonderful hosts. They took excellent care of us in all respects.

Eat at the Chalet! We reserved dinner for the first night as we knew we would be tired from a hard day of driving. We weren't sure of the wisdom of this decision, inasmuch as their dinners are pricy and we frankly doubted they could possibly be worth the cost. But we were wrong: the food is at a gourmet level and worth every cent. In fact, we enjoyed it so much that we had dinner again on our last night. Emil and Hea Min are truly talented chefs and - if you appreciate fine dining - their cooking really isn't to be missed.

In short, I can't say enough good things about the place. We'll certainly be returning.

One warning: while driving to this B&B, take very good care that you have directions in hand. The roads up the hill are quite confusing, particularly at night. We got turned around multiple times. So make sure you have a good map and navigator with you, plus the number to the B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakapo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
3.9 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Eiger

Property: Chalet Eiger
Address: 534 Gillespie Place | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalet Eiger 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Eiger offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment with lake and mountain views. Chalet Eiger’s location makes it perfectly situated for easy access to the many activities in the surrounding area. The Kiwi-influenced cuisine utilizes home grown and locally sourced organic produce with an excellent selection of New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing