We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful luxury”
Review of Chalet Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Eiger
Ranked #13 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We spent 2 nights here under the hospitality of Emil and Hea Min. It was wonderful. We are a couple in our 60s from Sydney, Australia. The room was sensational and we mastered the lighting pretty quickly! Lovely touches like home-baked biscuits, some delicious NZ cheese and a bottle of chilled wine were there for us. I loved the music throughout (will definitely follow up Radio Sure!). The piece de resistance was dinner prepared for us by Hea Min with fresh produce from the garden. We felt like special friends invited for dinner at a home with an excellent cellar. And I agree about the fantastic beds. A wonderful stay. We will definitely go back if we get back to NZ.

Room Tip: There are only 4 - leave it to Emil to choose for you once you tell him what you want.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Whilst we were not the owners at the time we do appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Eiger
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hea Min and Emil were superb hosts who went out of their way to make our visit relaxed and enjoyable. Our room was first class, and the Acacia Bay location was quiet and restful. Had a great evening with two other couples who were there and wound up exchanging details for further catch ups. Overall a strong recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Whilst we were not the owners at the time we do appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have stayed in Taupo before mostly near The Lake which means great views - The Chalet is set on a height with glimpses of The Lake so a pleasant outlook without being stunning. Emil and Hea Min are excellent hosts with everything running to precision, and the property is meticously presented though it does feel a little "fussy" - which isn't really a problem. We did feel that it was a bit over priced compared to other 5 star lodges we have stayed in. Taupo is an excellent location for many activities including golf which is our main interest.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Olive and Trevor, it was a real pleasure to be your host here at Chalet Eiger for a short time (one night). We had the impression that you both are a lovely couple and we are sorry that we didn't had the chance to know you better. We hope that you will find your way back to Taupo in the future. Taupo is not only a nature paradise but also golfer's haven with 5 golf courses (2 international). All the best
Emil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

For a start Lake Taupo is a great destination. As good as if not better than Queenstown. Lake, scenery, activities and more. How better to spend a long weekend than at the Chalet. Food was fantastic. Particularly the degustation dinner. Very comfortable room. Emil and Hea are lovely people and great hosts. Emil has lots of tourist ideas as well.
Mike and Jan

Room Tip: Just do it
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Mike and Jan, we appreciate you response and the time you have taken to write this review. We agree with you that the Lake Taupo area is a very special place and we are very proud to live here. You both know very well New Zealand so your comments about Taupo are highly regarded. We are very happy that Hea Min’s cuisine finds such praise, knowing that you have enjoyed finest during your stays in different parts of world. We hope you to see you again and hopefully you will try time fly fishing in the pristine Taupo rivers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Amazing food- Hea Min is an exceptional chef, lovely attentive hosts and beautiful location- couldn't have asked for more for a perfect honeymoon. The room was lovely and Emil and Hea Min ensured that we felt relaxed and welcome in their wonderful home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Michelle and Derek, it was nice to read your review about your stay at Chalet Eiger. We are always very happy to prepare special gourmet dinner for our guests. We are going an extra mile to source the best NZ produce and also using our own vegetables from our garden. Surely also the seasonal approach in the preparation for the meals play its role. You both are very happy young couple and have big projects in your mind and we are convinced that you will have happy life together with your children. We hope to see you one day again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Chalet is a modern house a bit outside of Taupo. You definitely need a car if you want to stay there. They welcome you with very nice details, for example a flag of your country (I am from Costa Rica, so that's impressive), a delicious homemade tea and cookies. The rooms are perfect, the beds are perfect, no noise at all, great view, bathtop (which is not easy to find in NZ), and music everywhere ( what you like in every room) it is a very impressive system.
We also had dinner there one night. Hae Min is the best cook ever, the breakfasts are already amazing, but the dinner is just flawless. You must know it is not a restaurant, they will cook for you and that's it it is great for romance! We had the most relaxing time and are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvestrito48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eigerTaupo, Owner at Chalet Eiger, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Silvia and Joerg. What a pleasure to meet you both and be your hosts for a while. With such a beautiful couple like you we are always reminded while we are doing this hosting business. We are very much pleased that you have enjoyed our cuisine. It is an both way road because we are enjoying cooking for quests who appreciate all the efforts put in the preparation and presentation of the dishes. When you have returned with your mother from Germany to celebrate her 70-tiest birthday we felt that you are a part of our family. Take care to each other and we hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at Chalet Eiger and were overwhelmed by the hospitality shown us by our hosts, Emil and Hea Min, followed closely by the succulent food and luxurious suites, which were completely without ostentation and yet every feature was just perfect- from the underfloor heating to the spa bath, from the beautifully executed lighting to the Finnish stove to keep us cosily warm. We truly felt we were back in Europe, feeling pampered and surrounded by everything we could ask for. We highly recommend anyone wanting a very special experience in the heart of New Zealand. Chalet Eiger is, quite simply, superior.
NG, London

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,109 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Eiger

Address: 534 Gillespie Place | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £190 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalet Eiger 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Eiger offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment with lake and mountain views. Chalet Eiger’s location makes it perfectly situated for easy access to the many activities in the surrounding area. The Kiwi-influenced cuisine utilizes home grown and locally sourced organic produce with an excellent selection of New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing