We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled units are great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turangi Leisure Lodge
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed about 6-7 years ago, so it was good to see a serious refurbishment. All new appliances and change of bedroom upstairs layout.
Good facilities.
Noisy at night with proximity to main road.

Room Tip: Timeshare resort. The rooms further away from the main road are those which have not been refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed there in December 2011 in a one bedroom remodelled unit. The back of the unit and the bedroom window faced the highway and we could hear every truck (and there were plenty of those day and night), cars and motorbikes passing very loudly even with the window closed. The noise was so loud that we could not open the window for fresh ais during the night. Did not get much sleep during our first night, but the other apartment they could offer that was on the other side of the resort, was not remodelled at all, with old and shabby furnishings so we decided to stay in the noisy one instead. The managers were OK, but I did not not find them particularly helpful. Turangi itself is a refreshing, relatively small place where the tourist industry isn't so overwhelming as in Taupo or Rotorua. There are lots of local walks and many more spectacular ones 10-15 minutes drive away. I would go back to Turangi but don't recommend this accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for ones that are away form the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ancsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We enjoyed staying here. Lois is so nice and made us all feel welcome

The use of the amenities were fantastic - drying room for our ski gear, laundry for all our washing.

I recommend not overpacking as you end up wearing the same clothes you wash daily. We went with our kids and friends and they loved the games room. There is also another room for small children with a playground to keep them entertained when you are not out doing other things.

The outdoor pool is heated, and the spas are hot

This place is close to shops, and there are great cafes nearby that make great coffee.

Only 40mins to the the ski field, 15 minutes to the Thermal pools plus more.

Love this place, we will be Back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank misse079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed at the Turangi Leisure Lodge during the end of Nov 2010 and we were really impressed with how the newly remodeled town home like room. Split level with the the bedroom up top. Half of the units are completely remodeled with new everything. We were lucky to get one of the newest ones.

The host brought local guides in for a breakfast where we were able to easily decide what to do for our stay. There is a large grocery store a 5 minute walk away with everything you need.

We will stay here again! As for the security mentioned by another reviewer, we had locks on all doors and used them. Also keeping the curtains closed keeps local folk from knowing what is inside. Very nice place and location but the community is small with lower income families, so just use common sense.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cyansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

From the welcome breakfast, to the final checkout we had an enjoyable stay here. There was plenty to do. The manager Lois, had everyone interacting from the first morning. She had tour information available & was very helpful at all times. The pool was heated & proved to be a welcome relaxing experience in the evening, along with the spas. It was a very central location, especially if you were driving. Even if you only had a relaxing stay at the resort there would be plenty to do. We wish we had longer than 1 week.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie7362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We had a great vacation, the location, resort and staff were wonderful. This place is in the middle of the north Island and we did some driving around, hiking, got out on Lake Taupo, did some fishing and we heard skiing is great there also in the winter. Our unit was great, we had no problems with parking or security (but we kept our doors locked and curtains drawn when we were gone) and there were plenty of blankets (and heating pads on the bed) plus more sheets and blankets for the fold out sofa in the living room. We used the pool and the spa, had two flat screen televisions with good reception and several no cost washers & dryers were available to keep our laundry and towels clean & fresh. We had no complains, the room, service and location were just what we wanted and needed. The country and it's people were warm and friendly! We would recommend this place, and plan to return (relax and recuperate) some other time!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArizonaCharley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We had a pleasant stay at the Lodge and Lois (the Manager) was very helpful, however the stay was marred by the apartement being broken into on our second night there. The windows were not of a very high standard of security. Local thieves stole some valuables including Mac Air Laptop, ipod, two phones and an iphone, binoculars and a host of other things(around about 2700 GBP.)

I have to say that the local Police were very good and sympathetic, however don't think I would return there unless there was a serious improvement in their security .

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColinandJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taupo
5.6 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#4 of 9 in Turangi
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turangi Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turangi Leisure Lodge

Address: Ngawaka Place | Turangi, Taupo 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turangi Leisure Lodge is located near the Turangi town centre, on the southern shores of Lake Taupo in the Waikato region of New Zealand's North Island. The Classic Managed Resort features 38 self-contained 1 and 3 bedroom apartments with facilities including a bar, spa pool, BBQ area, games room, table tennis, golf clubs, mini golf, and heated swimming pool. This Turangi accommodation is the ideal base for trout fishing on the Tongariro River, lake activities on Lake Taupo, hiking trails at Tongariro National Park, Kaimanawa Forest Park, and Pureroa Forest Park, and the ski fields at Mount Ruapehu. Guests can explore the countless activities on offer in Turangi from the comfort of Turangi Leisure Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turangi Leisure Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing