We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious 2-bedroom unit at Turangi Leisure Lodge”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turangi Leisure Lodge
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our cabin is unit 28 which has been recently remodeled. The carpet needs to be replaced
for sure. It is well equipped with dishwasher, powerful oven, toaster, DVD player,
two electric burners, a lot of pots and pans for 6 people. Master suite with a full
bath is upstairs and bedroom downstairs has a queen bed and double bed plus sofa bed
in the living room. The washer and dryer are located in the bathroom downstairs.
There are 2 TVs. Another cabin next to ours is currently under renovation. The noise
did not bother us since we were not at the resort during the day.

The shower stall upstairs was clogged and Helen from the front desk took care of it
immediately. On Saturday morning, There was a presentation of activity which included
breakfast e.g. venison sausage, hot dog and sausage patties. There was not enough food
for the number of people who have showed up. We did not get a chance to use the spa and
swimming pool which may be too cold to use. The electric circuit was tripped while my
wife was blowing her hair and both washer and dryer were running.

There is a New World supermarket within walking distance from the resort and live NZ mussels
are available at $3.99 per kg. The mussels are very tasty and sweet.

We picked up a prepaid SIM card from Vodaphone at Auckland airport for $30 with 500MB of data and use
the unlocked smart phone as a hotspot but the speed is extremely slow and coverage is spotty
in Turangi or surrounding areas. We get good coverage in Auckland however.

We have visited the ski area which is beautiful, Hobbiton Movie Set, thermal pools and Kiwi
bird park. We decided to check out 2 days earlier than scheduled to drive back to Auckland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent Easter at the Turangi Leisure Lodge in a two bedroom unit. It was at the opposite end of the facility to the reception and pool etc but it wasn't an issue (just a short walk) and we were glad not to be near the pool.
There was a new looking cafe opposite as part of the rock-climbing centre/backpackers. They had live bands which but luckily they didn't play too late.
This would be great if you want to go boating/fishing/rafting sight-seeing (or skiing in winter) etc. We were a bit limited with a three year-old and heavily pregnant wife but still enjoyed getting away from it all.
The spa pools and the pool are great and they have a recreation room and a small playground. Mini-put was great fun for the family too!
It's only a short walk to the shops which includes a small supermarket and not much further to the local New World. Easter meant lots of shops were closed and/or not selling alcohol on certain days and the New World was absolutely chokka on Easter Saturday!
Unfortunately Vodafone 3G was down for all of Easter and the wifi is expensive.
Our particular unit (#31) was nice. Minor issues were attended to immediately. Hopefully this unit wil see a new microwave and new (and bigger) fridge soon as otherwise it's nice and mostly new.
Lois the manager was lovely, knowledgable and helpful as were the other staff.
This is a timeshare so I think the only way to stay there is Friday to Friday. You do end up getting a free breakfast on Saturday morning as there is usually a meet and greet at 9am.
A great family-friendly place to stay in a good central location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tatuanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed for a week in a renovated one bedroom unit, near the pool area. It was clean and modern. We were pleasantly surprised. The kitchen was very well equipped - two burner hob, mini oven, microwave, fridge freezer and plenty of crockery, cutlery and other kitchen equipment.Try the free sachet of plunger coffee - very good!

Only downside was the noise from the trucks going past at night as our unit was on the main road side, but earplugs worked a treat.

The courtyard and pool areas are well maintained, and even though we didn't use the communal area in the lodge it looked inviting and comfortable. There's also a good games/play room for kids.

It's true that Turangi is much quieter that Taupo, but we liked this aspect. It's also closer than Taupo to some good sight-seeing areas south of Turangi (eg Mt Tongariro and Mt Ruapehu). And, we're not fishing people, but it is the Trout Fishing Capital of the World!

Lois and Helen were great hosts - friendly and a credit to the Lodge. Would highly recommend to people visiting the area.

Room Tip: Units away from the main road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Before heading on our holidays, I Googled this lodge and had some reservations on what to expect. I was wrong, the lodge was absolutely wonderful, the unit was excellent the facilities were great. The only downer is that there is nothing happening in Turangi. We had to travel 50km everyday to Taupo, which was OK. If you just want to relax,I recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gennaro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed for a week in a 2BR unit in mid-May 2012...

CONS: the heated pool was still pretty cold, internet was available, but you had to pay extra for it.

PROS: The staff was outstanding, the unit was modern, comfortable and clean.

Other reviewers noted issues with noise, which was not something I noticed. Maybe it is a time of the year thing, but noise was never an issue during our week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at Turangi Leisure lodge over the Christmas period. It was our fourth stay at the resort and we are now seriously considering buying a unit here. The unit we stayed in was a two bedroom unit adjacent to the resort swimming pool. This is our favourite unit in the complex. Since we stayed there last year the unit has been remodelled with the addition of a washing machine and dryer in the downstairs bathroom. The resort is undergoing a remodel programme with the one bedroom units undergoing a full refubishment and the two bedroom units getting washing machines and dryers installed. The one bedroom units will continue to use the common laundry facilities.
The resort has a small swimming pool which is heated or not depending upon the time of year, two private spa pools, a putt putt golf course, a recreation room with ping pong and foosball tables. There is also a barbeque area.
Within an easy walk is a covered heated Council operated swimming pool comprising 25metre lane pool, plunge pool and toddlers play pool, a large New World supermarket, I sitre for tourist information and the msall village of Turangi. Taupo is 40 minutes north by car and the ski field about an hour south by car. Tokaanu Hot Pools are about 10 mins away by car.
Turangi is not a place for those looking for elaborate nightlife and the faster pace of life but those looking for a quiet village to chill out it meets ones needs perfectly.
The resort is built alongside State Highway 1 so depending upon the time of year there can be a lot of road noise which precludes opening windows facing the road especially at night when most heavy trucks use the highway.
The manager of the resort Lois has been there for around 20 years plus and is one of the assets the resorts offered. She goes out of her way to try and ensure all guests have as good a time as possible
A great place to chill out.

Room Tip: Ask for units away from the State highway side of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank beanb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed about 6-7 years ago, so it was good to see a serious refurbishment. All new appliances and change of bedroom upstairs layout.
Good facilities.
Noisy at night with proximity to main road.

Room Tip: Timeshare resort. The rooms further away from the main road are those which have not been refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taupo
5.6 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
67 reviews
24.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#12 of 68 in Taupo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turangi Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turangi Leisure Lodge

Address: Ngawaka Place | Turangi, Taupo 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turangi Leisure Lodge is located near the Turangi town centre, on the southern shores of Lake Taupo in the Waikato region of New Zealand's North Island. The Classic Managed Resort features 38 self-contained 1 and 3 bedroom apartments with facilities including a bar, spa pool, BBQ area, games room, table tennis, golf clubs, mini golf, and heated swimming pool. This Turangi accommodation is the ideal base for trout fishing on the Tongariro River, lake activities on Lake Taupo, hiking trails at Tongariro National Park, Kaimanawa Forest Park, and Pureroa Forest Park, and the ski fields at Mount Ruapehu. Guests can explore the countless activities on offer in Turangi from the comfort of Turangi Leisure Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turangi Leisure Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing