We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turangi Leisure Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$553
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$537
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
21
38
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
38
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomsausage sizzlefree golfmini golf coursetime shareheated pooldvd playergreat poolliving roomwithin walking distancebbq arealarge bathroomshort walkgood sizeloistaurangatimeshare
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2010

From the welcome breakfast, to the final checkout we had an enjoyable stay here. There was plenty to do. The manager Lois, had everyone interacting from the first morning. She had tour information available & was very helpful at all times. The pool was heated & proved to be a welcome relaxing experience in the evening, along with the spas. It was a very central location, especially if you were driving. Even if you only had a relaxing stay at the resort there would be plenty to do. We wish we had longer than 1 week.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie7362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We had a great vacation, the location, resort and staff were wonderful. This place is in the middle of the north Island and we did some driving around, hiking, got out on Lake Taupo, did some fishing and we heard skiing is great there also in the winter. Our unit was great, we had no problems with parking or security (but we kept our doors locked and curtains drawn when we were gone) and there were plenty of blankets (and heating pads on the bed) plus more sheets and blankets for the fold out sofa in the living room. We used the pool and the spa, had two flat screen televisions with good reception and several no cost washers & dryers were available to keep our laundry and towels clean & fresh. We had no complains, the room, service and location were just what we wanted and needed. The country and it's people were warm and friendly! We would recommend this place, and plan to return (relax and recuperate) some other time!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArizonaCharley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We had a pleasant stay at the Lodge and Lois (the Manager) was very helpful, however the stay was marred by the apartement being broken into on our second night there. The windows were not of a very high standard of security. Local thieves stole some valuables including Mac Air Laptop, ipod, two phones and an iphone, binoculars and a host of other things(around about 2700 GBP.)

I have to say that the local Police were very good and sympathetic, however don't think I would return there unless there was a serious improvement in their security .

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColinandJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Our stay at the Lodge was a pleasant one. The manager, Lois Carson, was very helpful and accommoding. When we arrived it was golf week which allowed us to meet many people and have the opportunity to play a few golf courses in the area. Perfect week if you are a golfer.
Our unit was very comfortable and certainly was roomy. It was no problem to get extra heaters when it was rainy. We, too, would have been happier with a better television channel selection as there is little evening entertainment in the area. There is a new grocery store in Turangi and the local bakery is excellent (just get there early). We also bought fruit from a roadside truck. The cafes close at 3:00, so the North American custom of late lunch or afternoon coffee, couldn't happen!
Anyone who books here should be aware (as we weren't) that this is an OUT OF THE WAY location. Even tho' it is in the center of the island, any of the main tourist activities are from 1 - 4 hours away. The nearest larger center is Taupo which is a 45 - 50 minute drive on a very windy road. Not a good location is one wants a central location to see the North island.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CanadaKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We were so happy to have arrived at the Turangi Leisure Lodge when we got to New Zealand. We flew into Aukland and had to drive 5 hours to Turangi, we were exhausted.
The reception was wonderful. We were greeted by a kind, friendly receptionist who was waiting for us to arrive.
Our rooms (we were upgraded because we were a family of 4) were fantastic. We would call them townhouses with the master bed and bath upstairs in a loft-type arrangement (closed, though) and a bedroom with twins downstairs with it's own bath and toilet room (seperate rooms). The living room had two comfy couches and the dining room seats 6. The kitchen, albeit small, served it's purposes. We had a stove, oven with broiler, refrigerator, sink with draining pad and a dishwasher. Our traveling companions didn't have a dishwasher or an oven in their townhouse, though, the rest of it was the same. All of the dishes and pots and pans, everything we needed were there. A few food items were supplies too; salt and pepper, a few packets of sugar, instant coffee and tea bags as in a hotel room.
There is a shopping center within a few minutes walking distance with several different options for groceries, a butcher, a pharmacy and a bakery as well as some shopping. The souvenier shop at the information center right next door was the best place we found for souvenier gifts on the entire island. There are several restaurants and take aways within walking distance also.
Turangi is in between the skiing mountain and Taupo so if you both fish and ski you'll be in the perfect spot!
We had children with us and the Leisure Lodge is a fantastic place for them. A game room with ping-pong, billiard table, exercise bike and several games kept them busy when we adults were tired out. There are also two jacuzzi baths in private rooms that you can reserve very simply. Across the street, literally just a skip and a hop away is a rock climbing wall facility and the kids had a great time in there too. It was just $11 (NZ) for the day and they can come and go as they please.
Doing laundry was a breeze. They have a laundry room with several washers and dryers free of charge. You do need to buy your own soap though.
All in all, the Turangi Leisure Lodge was a fantastic family place to stay. If I were asked if I had any reccommendations to improve it they would be:
Get better cable television service. One of us has insomnia and the tv was terrible.
Leave the little things that guests leave behind in the cabinets. I love to get a condo that has a few spices, some sugar, etc. left behind. I don't expect to be left anything that would spoil but I hate to waste so much money on a bottle of ...say... oregano just to have to leave it behind and then have it thrown out.
Please, just one more blanket and pillow!
A mid-week housekeeping service is needed. They do have towel warmers in the bathrooms that dry the towels but we never had enough and could have used more clean towels.
I would stay here again in a minute and if you're headed to Central North Island I'd highly recommend the Turangi Leisure Lodge.

23  Thank mikendomsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews