We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely stay indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Above the Lake at Windsor Charters
Ranked #19 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“a lovely stay indeed”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our first trip to North Island was such a success thanks to the likes of Ivan & Maggie Rudd who could not have been more helpful or accomodating . 3 nights stay in such a beautiful location ( both property & town ) was excellent and added to that is the fab restaurant next door which had just been awarded the honour of being one of the best in Taupo and rightly so as the menu was great .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisdurhamcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My other half and I stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. We were originally going to pass through quickly, but were persuaded to stay a second night, which we are so glad we did.

We had the garden suite, which was lovely and spacious. It was nice to have a separate living area and separate bathroom located away from the bedroom.

We felt very welcomed and included in everything, and enjoyed the evening glass of wine on our first night (as well as the invitation for the second night, which we sadly couldn't take up due to a wine tasting evening at Scenic Cellars, which we were happy our hosts recommended to us).

The views from the first floor living/dining area were truly stunning. We only wish we had the time to take up the offer of spending time in the outdoor spa, 2 nights was clearly still not enough to enjoy all that there was on offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSBWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Maggie and Ivan were excellent hosts - very helpful and knowledgeable. They opened up their entire house to us and encouraged us to make use of their extensive facilities.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. Breakfasts were fantastic.
We would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blues34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Our stay at Above the Lake was lovely and made all the more so by our gracious hosts Maggie and Ivan. They both went out of there way to ensure we enjoyed our 2 night stay in Taupo. The "Sun over the yard arm" drinks with them were most enjoyable and enabled them to help us plan our time and the invitation to use the hot tub was too much to resist. The proximity to the pub/restaurant The Mole and Chicken was a major plus - no more than 50 yards to stagger home!!!
Maggie and Ivan are new to the game, but if they continue as they are doing they will be a great success and an asset to Taupo.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penn
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We were made very welcome and enjoyed lovely breakfasts .
We had a lovely trip on the lake luckily on a calm day .
There is lot todo and see in the surrounding area and we have some amazing photos of the falls and a superb sunset taken from the balcony of the guest house.
It is a couple of roads back from the water front and near a local style restaurant both of which we wondered if they would be noisy but they didn't bother us much at all
Ivan and Maggie have recently taken over and the room was very comfortable with a huge bath room
We wish them every success

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We came across their website and booked for 2 nights as we were travelling through Taupo. The hosts are very personable, friendly and helpful. They let us use the house as it was our home, the breakfast is fantastic and the bbq (and the game of sevens) in the evening was just perfect. We booked also booked a fishing trip during the day. We never did this before, but it turned out to be good fun! (the fish was cooked the same evening on the bbq). I would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone coming over to Taupo, it was just a shame we had to leave..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeLauret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St. Edmunds
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2010

our welcome was very warm and unexpected in a B&B, our room with a the view we wanted, was clean , bright and comfortable with great sunsets. Maggie & Ivan did, I would say go out of their way to make our all too brief stay a memorable one. With a good knowledge of the town and resaurant locations. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Lake at Windsor Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Lake at Windsor Charters

Property: Above the Lake at Windsor Charters
Address: 46 Rokino Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Taupo Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Located in the heart of Taupo overlooking the lake, mountains and Taupo town. 3 tastefully furnished guest rooms with private facilities. Charter boat trout fishing with your hosts an option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Above the Lake at Windsor Charters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing