We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best combo for B&B and trout fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Above the Lake at Windsor Charters
Ranked #19 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Maggie and Ivan are the kindest and most genuine hosts one can ever meet. Breakfast conversations and any exchanges were always earnest. Maggie even went out of her way to help get the lightning cable for my iPhone when she heard that mine wasn't working.

The Garden Suite was spacious and spotlessly clean, with two rooms each with a queen size bed, and a lounge to relax. The highlight of our stay was trout fishing on Maggie and Ivan's boat. Maggie and Ivan made the arrangement for our catch to be prepared by the Mole and Chicken restaurant just next door to their home. Ivan then prepared the best smoked trout the next day for breakfast.

Instead of making separate arrangements for lodging and fishing, Above the Lake did both for us, relieving us of any potential headaches.

Look no further. This should be the only place to stay in Lake Taupo!

Room Tip: The Garden Suite has two rooms and it's the best for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, Owner at Above the Lake at Windsor Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

It was great to have you to stay with us, we thoroughly enjoyed your company and were more than happy to help with little problems such as phone cables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were greeted by a cold beer by Ivan as soon as we arrived – how good is that? Other than two beers!

Our suite with side garden access was all we could have wished for – spacious, spotless and a very comfortable super-sized bed. We breakfasted with Maggie and Ivan during our stay and were treated not only to a sumptuous meal also to extensive conversation on activities and attractions within the area, Ivan can offer 1st class trout fishing on the lake in his own boat. During our stay family visitors arrived from the UK and we met with them in the Mole and Chicken where we enjoyed a great meal.

The house is set on the corner of the road and a short walk downhill to the beach foreshore for swimming and walking into Tuapo which by the way in our opinion is much better than Rotorua; the lake is certainly cleaner and safer.

Congratulations and thanks Maggie and Ivan for making our stay so personal and memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The reviews I've read are spot on. Margaret and Ivan offer a great welcome with tea (or a beer) on arrival. Room (upstairs) was fine with all the facilities you could wish for with great style. Margaret prepared a wonderful breakfast, all sat together giving perfect opportunity to chat and plan activities. Once again with just a 2 day stay Margaret was able help us map out a very full day, there is lots to see in and around Taupo. The spa pool at the end of the day was a blessing.
Can walk to the town for bars and restaurants if you wish - we did. In our view better than Rotorua.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Maggie and Ivan welcomed us into their home from the outset as if we were old friends. A welcomed cup of tea after our journey from Aucklland was much appreciated. The garden area was very colourful and relaxing as Maggie went through the many choices available in the area of Taupo that suited our holiday. Our room was well appointed and spacious with a view and very pleasant decor. Robes, spa bath and all other amenities were tastefully offered as well as a hot tub in the pretty back garden. Breakfast included a hot omolete with trout that had been caught by the hosts and then smoked by the local butcher. Maggie came to the rescue by removing some red wines stains from my slacks after a mishap.We had a wonderful stay and will return so that Ivan can take us out on the lake for some trout fishing on his boat "Fish N Fun" at Windsor Charters. We like to stay in B+B's wherever we can and this is one of the more memorable ones amongst the many we have stayed at worldwide.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

we spent two nights in the downstairs super king suite....very very comfortable and clean. Great bed and location is very quiet.we slept like logs. There is a fridge in the unit and free WiFi
Maggie and Ivan were extremely welcoming and provided lots of help in our activity and meal planning..we especially enjoyed having a glass of wine with them in their beautiful garden.
Breakfast is continental with cooked available if desired...the fresh fruit, yogurt ,cereals , toast, juice and coffee was more than enough for us although I did have some of Maggie's excellent scrambled eggs the second day.
Location is great...there is pub/bistro next door that does very good food. Its a 20 minute walk into town along the beach front..great views across the lake to the volcanos
side note..if you want to try your hand at trout fishing on the lake, Ivan has a charter fishing business...ask him about the 6 pound Brown trout his client caught the other day.
Highly recommended for a warm Kiwi B&B

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the hosts very friendly and informative. Breakfasts turned into a delightful and chatty affair.The stay was glorious, comfortable and quiet.. Well presented, clean and well set out accommodation, nothing too much trouble. Would love to reccommend it to others, but then would that leave room for us on return

Room Tip: Garden suite idyllic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

we had a lovely room upstairs with beautiful views across the lake, it is clean and well appointed and there is a good sized bathroom. Ivan and Maggie were really welcoming and very helpful. we were in Taupo for the bike fest and they were so good fitting breakfast around race times etc. Food was delicous. They were knowledable and helpful about local attractions. The B& B is in a nice location, quite a way from the town centre but a straight forward drive in and plenty of parking.
we would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
4.7 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#17 of 68 in Taupo
732 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Lake at Windsor Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Lake at Windsor Charters

Address: 46 Rokino Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: £100 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Taupo Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Located in the heart of Taupo overlooking the lake, mountains and Taupo town. 3 tastefully furnished guest rooms with private facilities. Charter boat trout fishing with your hosts an option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Above the Lake at Windsor Charters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing