We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Above the Lake at Windsor Charters
Ranked #18 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We were made very welcome and enjoyed lovely breakfasts .
We had a lovely trip on the lake luckily on a calm day .
There is lot todo and see in the surrounding area and we have some amazing photos of the falls and a superb sunset taken from the balcony of the guest house.
It is a couple of roads back from the water front and near a local style restaurant both of which we wondered if they would be noisy but they didn't bother us much at all
Ivan and Maggie have recently taken over and the room was very comfortable with a huge bath room
We wish them every success

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Above the Lake at Windsor Charters
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

We came across their website and booked for 2 nights as we were travelling through Taupo. The hosts are very personable, friendly and helpful. They let us use the house as it was our home, the breakfast is fantastic and the bbq (and the game of sevens) in the evening was just perfect. We booked also booked a fishing trip during the day. We never did this before, but it turned out to be good fun! (the fish was cooked the same evening on the bbq). I would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone coming over to Taupo, it was just a shame we had to leave..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippeLauret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

our welcome was very warm and unexpected in a B&B, our room with a the view we wanted, was clean , bright and comfortable with great sunsets. Maggie & Ivan did, I would say go out of their way to make our all too brief stay a memorable one. With a good knowledge of the town and resaurant locations. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our tour of the North Island. We stayed in the lake view room which was stunning. The room was very spacious with a lovely big bed. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful to us, recommending things to do in the area. And the breakfast the next day was one of the best during our stay in NZ.

It is situated about 25 min walk from the town which suited us fine, we walked in for dinner that night no problem, although our hosts did offer to drop us in.

I would definitely reccommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyC93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Maggie and Ivan were very hospitable. Make sure you arrive in time for the 6 o'clock drinks and a chance to discuss all the attractions around Taupo. Our hosts have only recently taken over this B+B and have worked very hard to make it as appealing as it is. We were upgraded from the Queen room in the Garden suite to the King as there were no other guests at the time. The pub next door is not an issue , in fact they serve a great dinner,

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A lovely B&B with great views of the lake. Our garden rooms were very clean and cosy. Angela our host was very friendly and also very helpful with our onward travel. She also cooks a really good breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMRHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Taupo - Angela & Bruce were very friendly and helpful in giving us tips on things to do and see while in the area. We enjoyed Angela's cooked breakfasts which set us up for the day. We had a lovely bedroom with a super ensuite with a spa bath the rooms were clean and beautiful

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiveshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,110 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Lake at Windsor Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Lake at Windsor Charters

Address: 46 Rokino Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: £104 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Taupo Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Located in the heart of Taupo overlooking the lake, mountains and Taupo town. 3 tastefully furnished guest rooms with private facilities. Charter boat trout fishing with your hosts an option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Above the Lake at Windsor Charters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing