We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean, excellent flashpackers!”
Review of Silver Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Fern Lodge
Ranked #26 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very clean, excellent flashpackers!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The good reviews we read that lead us to stay here were all spot on. We stayed for just one night in a four bed room with our two young children. We had our own bathroom which was very clean. Beds were all made up and towels supplied which was great. The communual kitchen was well equiped and again very clean with plenty of tables and chairs in the dining area to eat at. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful. This property was well priced and we will certainly be back again on our yearly trip to the snow. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverfern lodg... T, Manager at Silver Fern Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to you staying with us next year.

We are new Managers and really enjoying all our guest's being back packers or the budget minded traveller who wants to spend the night not a fortune.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
30
44
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The staff were friendly (we called the day before to say that we would get there late, they were lovely & said they would just leave us the key).
Everything is very basic... The place has a lot of rooms & there were quite a few families staying but it wasn't super noisy.
Our room had two beds, a tv, a bathroom & a jug... No tea, coffee etc. The heater took some time to work out but warmed the room effectively.
Great value for money if you're just looking for a basic room whilst in Taupo!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Service: Absolutely lovely hosts! They were very nice, friendly and helpful. It was a real shame that I didn't take a picture with them because I was in a hurry to catch the bus :( Anyways, I hope I can visit them again one day.

Room: My boyfriend and I stayed in a Standard Studio Room for one night. The facilities were good. It was a very warm and comfortable room. The price was reasonable. There was a balcony with a beautiful view as well. Overall, it was good. :)

Thank you very much, Silver Fern Lodge. You made my day!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Four of us stayed in one of the family rooms with ensuite, fantastic value for money. The kitchen was spacious and very clean and had everything we needed. Free parking, warm rooms, very friendly manager (told us all the best spots to visit and gave us some discount vouchers to use). Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Can't fault this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Silver Fern Lodge is a perfect place to stay in Taupo. A very friendly and tidy place at a good price and within a walking distance to a town and shops.

My husband and I stayed in a very nice and comfortable Executive Motel Studio Room for 7 nights and the room has it all: tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board/iron, hairdryer, a fridge, TV, the balcony etc which made our stay soooo comfortable as everything was there. We also used a sharing kitchen and a washing machine during our stay which was great.

Eddie (the manager) and all his staff were just amazing!!! I have to say that we received 5 star ++ customer service and everyone was so kind, helpful and happy! I wish we could stay longer as we got very comfortable there but we had to move on :). Thank you so much Eddie for all your help, we will definitely recommend you to EVERYONE!!!! Keep up the amazing job you do :)

Room Tip: Eddie will give you the best - just tell him what you need, your priority and he will take care of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miras628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Nothing you can compare with 5 star hotels... BUT the service that was given to us was truly 5 stars. Thou we only stayed 1 night, Eddie was welcomed us like his own brothers and sisters. Really helpful with all the activities and bookings that he helped us with. Thanks so much. You made our trip a memorable one. Cheers

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisAng3683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernLodge, Manager at Silver Fern Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you Dennis I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Taupo, I may not be your brother or sister but I prefer to treat people as people not as numbers when they walk through the doors of SilverFernLodge.
I look forward to seeing you again one day.

Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We're middle aged first time travellers OS and we spent two nights here. Though not backpackers we were warmly greeted and eddie was more than helpful. Rooms are upstairs and we were next to the large kitchen/dining room. Walking distance to the city centre. Plenty of eateries. Lots of tourist brochures.the tariff was bargain basement for what we received. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernLodge, Manager at Silver Fern Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Terri Thank you for your comments and glad you had great time in our fine town Taupo, Dont leave it to long till you return to us here at SilverFernLodge.

Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.4 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#50 of 69 in Taupo
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Lodge

Property: Silver Fern Lodge
Address: 118 Tamamutu Street | cnr Tamamutu Street and Kaimanawa Streets, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo offers accommodation to suit all budgets, Silverfern lodge offers studio style rooms to Dorm rooms. 5 minutes walk to Taupo city centre, Great Lake Taupo and Taupo Bundgy. Escape to Taupo and stay in clean, modern, affordable accommodation in the heart of Taupo. Silver Fern Lodge in Taupo is in a quiet location on the edge of Taupo central business district within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bars, RSA, Cosmopolitan Club, supermarkets & Event Centre. Close to golf courses, heated pools, bungy, Lake Taupo, etc Our furnishings reflect New Zealands national symbol "the fern" Ideal accommodation in the heart of Taupo to suit all budgets, school groups, sport teams, tour groups, families, couples to the independant travellers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing