We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in a B & B and more”
Review of Ambleside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambleside B&B
Ranked #14 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything in a B & B and more”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at Ambleside on 2 July 2012, in New Zealand's midwinter. Pat and Ross were extremely hospitable hosts and made us feel instantly welcome, as did their lovely wood stove and the cup of tea and cake. Their home is modern and warm, with gorgeous views of Lake Taupo from large windows of the two guest rooms we occupied. One had an adjacent sitting area with balcony. With Pat's help we got reservations at an excellent hotel for dinner, and came back for a soak in the spa pool in the garden before bed. Breakfast was simply outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms are cozy in winter and have big windows so should be airy and cool in summer. The breakfast h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Culturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
york, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We only stayed one night, but Pat and Russ were very welcoming and looked after our every need. They were keen to make recommendations of things to do, and stuff to see in Taupo. The room we had had great views out over the lake (the house is part way up a hill, so you can see above the other houses) from the large window. Room was immaculatly clean and had everything we needed, including fridge, drinks and cake! Breakfast was all prepared freshly and very tasty. Another highlight is the naturally heated hot tub in the garden which is available to use whenever and extra towels and robes are provided. A must stay in taupo!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsimx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights with Pat and Russ.
They could not have made us more welcome and the view from our very comfortable room was spectacular.
Although the hot tub was fun the real highlight was sitting with them over a G&T and swapping stories about places we all knew.
I would not hesitate in recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leafpeeperbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed with Russ and Pat in late November. We had a splendid time. They really care about making you feel welcome and are so generous. Bedrooms were thoughtfully presented and the views are spectacular. A glass of cold white wine in the hot tub would be hard to forget but it is the two of them that are really unforgettable. Their local knowledge is extensive and they were helpful in finding other places to stay in for our tour of the two islands.
We would recommend them with no reservations what so ever.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Russ and Pat are perfect hosts in this wonderful comfortable B&B. We Stayed 2 nights and our hosts could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The views from the guest rooms are fantastic and the thermal hot tub is a real treat. A real highlight is breakfast, with Russ and Pat joining us with wonderful chats about our travels and experiences. As keen travelers themselves they know exactly how to look after their guests !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EngineerCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed with Russ & Pat for 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. They are the most delightful genuine couple who take a real delight in making your stay in Taupo as good as possible. They offer invaluable advice on the best places to visit and at which restaurants to eat . We stayed in the Lakeside suite which has a lovely balcony offering fanstastic views over Lake Taupo. The place is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are first class. Lake Taupo is a lovely area with lots of things to do and within easy driving of other stunning areas. If we ever go back to New Zealand we would definately stay at Ambleside again. We loved Lake Taupo, but Russ & Pat made it really very special.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here instead of Rotorua and it proved to be an excellent choice. From the moment we arrived Russ and Pat made us feel most welcome with tea and home-made cake in their spacious lounge. They suggested a good restaurant for dinner. The view from our bedroom and guest lounge was beautiful.

Breakfast next morning was taken with Russ and Pat, and the choice was wide. Our hosts were very interesting to talk to and their hospitality could not be faulted. A great deal of attention had been paid to detail to make all aspects of our stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B @ Number Ten
B&B @ Number Ten
#8 of 41 in Taupo
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside B&B

Property: Ambleside B&B
Address: 5 Te Hepera Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing