We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Ambleside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambleside B&B
Ranked #17 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Russ and Pat are a truly an amazing couple who welcome you into their home as if you have been friends for years. By the time you leave you will feel as if you have been.

It starts with afternoon tea (Pat is a phenomenal baker) and can progress to more stimulating drinks and nibbles on the terrace in front of their home. The room, well more like rooms, we had was gloriously comfortable and has a lovely terrace overlooking the lake. (The sunsets were pretty special). Breakfast is generous, varied and quite scumptious.

Pat and Russ are very good at making suggestions for activities quite simply great company. Three nights not nearly enough. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We'd hardly got out of the car before Pat and Russ were there to welcome us and help with luggage! They really made you feel so welcome with their attention to detail and genuine interest in what we wanted to see in NZ and good helpful advise on interesting places to experience in Taupo. Room was very comfortable and had great views out over Lake Taupo. Breakfast were excellent - makes such a difference when that is right as it really sets you up for the day! Having felt like travellers rather than mere tourists in NZ it was quite humbling to see on a huge map just how much of the UK that Russ & Pat had been to on their visit there..... but lots to talk about!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank t g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

What a special bed and breakfast this is; we stayed four days (first, just for one night then we returned for a further three before motoring up to Auckland). We were made to feel treasured guests by Pat and Russ, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very comfortable, the breakfasts great and the extra homemade goodies lovely. All the places recommended by Pat and Russ to visit were also very good.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Ambleside B&B very highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slowworms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

From the moment Pat welcomed us in the driveway, until our fond farewell following our two nights' stay, we were immersed in the fabulous ambience and atmosphere that is Ambleside. We cannot write glowingly enough of the overall hospitality afforded to us by these most experienced hosts, Pat and Russ; from the time spent with us planning our sightseeing, the welcoming afternoon tea, drinks before dinner, sumptuous breakfasts (the best in the North Island!) and of course the immaculate facilities. This B&B is indeed up there with the best! Thank-you Pat & Russ, for making us feel like old friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BezandReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

The incredible care and attention which Pat and Russ afford to their guests is outstanding . In giving advice and attending to every need they are each wonderful. The accommodation itself could not be more comfortable, and the location (just outside the main part of Taupo but a few minutes walk from the lake ) is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

There is nothing about Ambleside that you could possibly improve on. The accommodation is beautiful, the situation superb, the food delicious and the geo-thermally heated tub in the garden fantastic, but best of all are the hosts. Pat and Russ are so warm, welcoming and generous with their time and help that it's like staying with good friends. We stay in a B and B rather than in a hotel hoping to get to know local people and find out about their perspective on life - and this was the very best we have come across. A visit here really is perfect.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaryJane64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed three nights in this beautiful place and as in many reviews written before this one - we can only confirm that Pat and Russ are the perfect hosts! We felt very comfortable from the very first moment and enjoyed to learn a lot about the region and the life in New Zealand.
The rooms are simply gorgeous and indeed spotless clean. Breakfast is another highlight from the food point of view (homemade jams, muesli, cooked surprises etc.) as well as the fact to have it together with Pat and Russ.
After staying in many B&B's we have experienced Ambleside with Pat and Russ as the perfect place to be!
Many thanks to our great hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinese_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.9 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#1 of 42 in Taupo
210 reviews
3.8 mi away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#3 of 42 in Taupo
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B @ Number Ten
B&B @ Number Ten
#10 of 42 in Taupo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside B&B

Address: 5 Te Hepera Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing