We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second home in Taupo”
Review of Ambleside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambleside B&B
Ranked #14 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A second home in Taupo”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at Ambleside, we immediately felt like we were old friends or family since that's just the way Russ and Pat are. They invited us to use their geothermal hot tub which was wonderful after a long day of activity. Pat even provided a glass of wine to complete the idyllic setting. Our room was very comfortable, with its own sitting area, balcony and a private bath across the hall. We had wonderful conversations over the homemade breakfast goodies. Our time in Taupo was just a lot more fun when we got to share it with them. I hope we have the opportunity to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Yes, it's all been said and is true. Pet and Russ are very sociable and will sit and have breakfast with you. Free things to do in Taupo are visit the Huka falls, and just up stream there is a dam release every 2 hours. We also paid for a sea plane ride fro Taupo to the other side of the lake and the. Went white water rafting, both very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

It's a wonderfully clean and comfortable house with two rooms that have a beautiful overview of the lake. The place is close enough to downtown Taupo, but far enough to be very calm. The hosts, Pat and Russ, are part of the great experience. I can't think of kinder and sweeter people. Be sure to try the backgarden spa fed with thermal water!

Room Tip: Choose the main room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

from the moment we arrived Pat and Russ made us feel like we were old friends! We really wished that we had been staying more than just the one night on our way south to Wellington. They suggested a great place for us to eat, the Mole and Chicken, gave us good directions for us to walk there via the lakeside path, and when we got back we chilled (?) in their naturally heated hot tub under the stars. Breakfast was good too- we would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We loved Ambleside and loved Pat and Russell they were outstanding hosts sharing their knowledge of the local area and New Zealand in general. The bedroom was good, the private balcony was good, breakfast was good, afternoon drinks were good BUT the pool was amazing, every home should have one. Perfect stay with perfect people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coniston53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This B&B was probably the best place we stayed during our New Zealand trip and that is saying something as we enjoyed every place we stayed! Part of the reason the stay was so enjoyable was our hosts, Pat and Russ. They are such a wonderful friendly couple who clearly like people and enjoy what they do! Pat fixed the most delicious breakfasts and we enjoyed our conversations with Pat and Russ every morning. We were only there for 2 nights but we could have stayed much longer. All of the reviews of this wonderful B&B are spot on! Thanks again Pat and Russ for such wonderful memories :-)

Dana and Bill

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauitutu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights with his son and wife for the men to go fishing. We could not have been more thrilled with Ambleside. Pat and Russ are the perfect hosts and looked after us as if we are family. Pat has thought of everything from the way the rooms are planned down to the last detail for comfort and ease of living. She knows exactly what travellers need from making sure their washing is done (dried and folded beautifully!), to providing the tastiest titbits of delicious baking on top of excellent breakfasts. She welcomed us in our wet walking clothes, takes it all to dry and urged us into the thermal pool to relax. We even got a bottle of wine in the pool to reward us for completing the Tongariro Crossing! We felt really cared for here and all of us in the party felt the same. A gem of a place so don't go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Both rooms excellent, one with ensuite and the other just over the corridor, but that one has the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,024 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B @ Number Ten
B&B @ Number Ten
#8 of 41 in Taupo
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside B&B

Property: Ambleside B&B
Address: 5 Te Hepera Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing