We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't find a nicer place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambleside B&B
Ranked #13 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You won't find a nicer place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Yes, it has all been said. Our hosts opened their house to us. It was like visiting someone you had known for years. Russ and Pat are a lovely couple and as we are Scottish, they have visited more of Scotland than us. Our room was lovely with the sitting room and the balcony overlooking the Lake. Breakfast with our hosts was a lovely touch. Can't add any more without repeating all the nice comments previously made. We recommend Ambleside to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartTheScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our second visit so we knew it was going to be wonderful, and it was. The house is tucked away at the end of a cul de sac up above the main road and a little out of the centre. So it is quiet but in no way remote. Sleep comes easily.

Both rooms are delightful with splendid views over the lake. But what makes this place so memorable are the amazing hosts. Pat and Russ will do far more for you than you have any right to expect and look after you with an easy and warm charm and the best food and drink. We feel like old friends and hope we become just that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at Ambleside, we immediately felt like we were old friends or family since that's just the way Russ and Pat are. They invited us to use their geothermal hot tub which was wonderful after a long day of activity. Pat even provided a glass of wine to complete the idyllic setting. Our room was very comfortable, with its own sitting area, balcony and a private bath across the hall. We had wonderful conversations over the homemade breakfast goodies. Our time in Taupo was just a lot more fun when we got to share it with them. I hope we have the opportunity to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Yes, it's all been said and is true. Pet and Russ are very sociable and will sit and have breakfast with you. Free things to do in Taupo are visit the Huka falls, and just up stream there is a dam release every 2 hours. We also paid for a sea plane ride fro Taupo to the other side of the lake and the. Went white water rafting, both very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

It's a wonderfully clean and comfortable house with two rooms that have a beautiful overview of the lake. The place is close enough to downtown Taupo, but far enough to be very calm. The hosts, Pat and Russ, are part of the great experience. I can't think of kinder and sweeter people. Be sure to try the backgarden spa fed with thermal water!

Room Tip: Choose the main room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

from the moment we arrived Pat and Russ made us feel like we were old friends! We really wished that we had been staying more than just the one night on our way south to Wellington. They suggested a great place for us to eat, the Mole and Chicken, gave us good directions for us to walk there via the lakeside path, and when we got back we chilled (?) in their naturally heated hot tub under the stars. Breakfast was good too- we would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We loved Ambleside and loved Pat and Russell they were outstanding hosts sharing their knowledge of the local area and New Zealand in general. The bedroom was good, the private balcony was good, breakfast was good, afternoon drinks were good BUT the pool was amazing, every home should have one. Perfect stay with perfect people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coniston53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B @ Number Ten
B&B @ Number Ten
#7 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tuscany on Taupo
Tuscany on Taupo
#14 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside B&B

Property: Ambleside B&B
Address: 5 Te Hepera Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing