We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot to stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We arrived at this lovely motel and were greeted by a friendly proprietor. Up to the first floor there were steps so no good if you are not able bodied but there are ground floor apartments also.
The room was good, clean and good facilities. The view was spectacular, right on the lake front with a small terrace with table and chairs to sit at and sip your wine while enjoying the view. As night fell the view of the lights on the lake was beautiful. Nice and quiet too. We enjoyed a plunge in the mineral heated pool under the stars and a spa in room to enjoy as well.
Only down side I believe was that it only had a ceiling fan that was a bit noisy but this was far outweighed by the good service and room. Breakfast arrived in the morning at right time and was enjoyable and well priced. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
79
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our second stay at Boulevard Waters and it was every bit as good as the first time, a year ago. The complex is under new ownership (since our first visit) and they made us feel right at home. We had a studio on the top floor and it was quiet and contained all the facilities we needed to self cater during our stay.

Apart from it's beachfront location, the absolute best thing about Boulevard is its thermal pool. Last year I had noticed that it was in a slightly more "natural" state, i.e. the pool lining tended to get a little bit green and slimy. This time around, however, the new owners have got on top of the water quality and the pool was maintained in pristine condition which made it even more appealing. The units also have large spas, however the thermal pool is so pleasant to sit in we have never actually used the spa, despite our best intentions!

We have got our booking confirmed for next year and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrawonga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Quiet setting, the most awesome view and location.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, modest self catering facilities were just what we needed. The hot pool was great and we spent many hours soaking.
The local knowledge and friendliness of staff was invaluable & fantastic.
You would be charged 3 times the price anywhere here in Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This motel is fully self catering, which does help the budget. It is right on the edge of Lake Taupo, with swimmable beach alongside ( and even next to several small hot springs!). The rooms were clean, well equipped and the hosts most helpful. The motel is just off the junction of State Highway 5, so not right downtown and therefore quiet, still an easy and pleasant lakeside walk to town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great place, rooms are large with all modern facilities & the views are absolutely fantastic ! Only small complaint noise for room above as we were on the ground floor but all in all a fantastic place

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samrobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Location cannot be faulted. No road noise, absolute lake frontage, and easy to find. Keith is a new Manager, and his booking and reception were efficient, welcoming and first class. Accommodation in three first floor rooms was excellent. Floor to Ceiling glass doors give maximum views of Lake Taupo and the resident ducks, ducklings, geese and black swans. Furnishings and bedlinen are modern and attractive. The kitchenette is well equiped, and the shower is great. Spa inthe main room is a bit noisy - but most spa's are. However the view from the spa more than makes up for the noise! The Hot water plunge pool is well sheilded from the winds and a welcome spot after a days' travelling. We tried to find something wrong - but can't! (Unless it is that we had to pay $5 for internet). We will be back - for much longer stay than our one night this time. Thanks Keith. This was heaven on a stick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripleJFLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

lovely to be back and everything was as expected apart from the underfloor heating not working it wouldnt stop us from staying again, great service great place rite down by the water. just lovely. you sure give these chain hotels a run for there money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masynautos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#12 of 69 in Taupo
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge

Property: Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge
Address: 215 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#16 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Lake Edge Accommodation on the shores of Lake Taupo. ALL 10 luxury units have views of Lake Taupo and the mountains of Tongariro National Park (Ruapehu, Ngaruhoe & Tongariro) Studio units with king size beds, in-room 2 person spa, kitchen facilities, underfloor heating, wireless internet and LCD TVs & DVD players. Family units with same facilities, 2 single beds in separate bedroom We have an outdoor Thermal Pool and BBQ for guests use Free off street parking in a quiet location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Waters Motor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing