We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Common Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tiki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tiki Lodge
Ranked #11 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Common Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

It's a normal Hostel. It's more or less central but quiter than the others. Got a spa. Beds were alright. I didn't like that they closed the balcony as early as the kitchen. Has a lot of couches (but even this room is closed pretty early)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Hi there - many thanks for the feedback - the balcony and kitchen are actually closed at the same time (as you have to go through the kitchen to access the balcony). We do have a 24hr TV room plus garden area available after hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    67
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
36
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my group of friends booked a 2 days accommodation at Tiki Lodge.
The first impression that we had it wasn't very nice. The receptionist was rude you could easy see that she wasn't happy to be there. This kind of behavior are not acceptable in a hospitality environment.
The place has good location and facilities but I will not recommend only because of the bad service provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara3258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to post feedback. Tiki Lodge is run by a husband and wife team so the receptionist you refer to would have been myself. I am sorry that you perceived the service was bad - I apologise if you genuinely felt like you were treated poorly. Trust me, if I wasn't happy to be here I wouldn't be here and I certainly wouldn't be bothering to respond to online reviews if I didn't care.
All online comments re: my customer service have been positive in the past until now so I presume that there was another specific issue you were not happy with. I strongly suspect that you were part of the group that caused issues while here as I was recently threatened with a bad online review from a member of that group. Funny, considering the guest was the one behaving poorly and I was the one threatened. Reception staff can often treated poorly by guests as well, however we tend to be the ones defending ourselves through no fault of our own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night during a three week tour of New Zealand. This has to be one of the best hostel/backpackers accommodation that we've stayed in so far. The place looks pretty new and is very clean and modern. We stayed in a twin room with kitchenette and shared bathroom. The shared facilities were all clean and tidy. Laundry room was good and had an undercover car park. The wifi service was pretty sketchy and not very user friendly. The hostel cat is friendly. Overall this is a great place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahrO7155PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback. The wifi is usually really good - it is not our system - but they recently upgraded software and servers etc so there were some teething problems with the changeovers/updates. These are sorted I believe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

after the serenity of oputere, we were shocked by the hipster, hostel crowd here.
this is situated right off the main road and is just 100 metres from the lake and all the amenities. we got a nice room with attached bath. facilities are all that one expects in a hostel in NZ but no free wifi.
A good but not a great hostel

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank humphreyappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi there - many thanks for the comments.
Sorry I must be getting old as I have no idea what "hipster, hostel crowd" refers to and why this would shock you.... must be some new younger generation phrase that I am not yet aware of. Our guests are generally the "non partying crowd" so we are quieter that most hostels in town.
To avoid confusion, the room had an attached bathroom (not an attached bath) - we do have a spa pool if you want a bath like soak however...(crikey - now everyone will be hunting for the bathtub we don't have).
Wifi is not free as it is not ours to give away (connection is not owned by Tiki Lodge). Once NZ catches up with the rest of the world we can only wish for free wifi ourselves. Would love to give it away if (a) I could afford it myself and (b) it was mine to give away. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights during a trip with friends. It's in a good position in the centre of Taupo, the rooms are comfortable and there is a big kitchen and a tv room. There is also a big hot tub in the back of the hostel and the price was good. But I didn't like the staff! Since the first moment we arrived they have been telling us to be carefull in what we were doing cause they had our credit card and could charge us in every moment! Maybe they had problems with clients in the past, but I think that this is not a good way to approach new customers!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaher-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi there - many thanks for posting feedback. As we only have 2 full time office staff (husband and wife team) I can assure you that we do not ever inform guests at check in that we can "charge your credit card at every moment". We do however mention that you do not need to pay a cash key deposit if we already have your credit card in our system - so maybe there was some misunderstanding.
On the rare occasion that we do have guests causing problems i.e with alcohol in rooms, rowdy/rough behaviour etc we will not hesitate to inform them that they should comply with the hostel rules or they may find themselves having to pay extra costs (which is fair). I highly doubt that this was the case with your group and we certainly wouldn't be mentioning anything at check in unless your group was causing concern at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed three nights at Tiki Lodge whilst exploring Taupo and taking on the awesome Tongariro Alpine Crossing (don't miss it). The hostel is perfectly functional, clean all the way through (bar the stale smelling hallways, which you become accustomed to after a day), decent sized dorm rooms with plug sockets, a big kitchen and decent sized communal area. The balcony is a nice place to sit as the sun goes down and I understand they have a hot tub, which evidently, I didn't check out. From that perspective, it is hard to fault so it will be perfectly fine for a lot of people.

To me however, it just seemed a little lifeless. There was no involvement or enthusiasm from the full time staff who sit downstairs at the reception desk so the atmosphere is completely dependent on the travelling staff members and the travellers themselves. It felt like a travel lodge or holiday inn with the kitchen being like the bar area where you could engage with others should you wish. Maybe it's a New Zealand hostel thing as I've found this a few times so far on the north island, but sadly I just can't put my finger on what it is exactly. It could certainly use a travellers touch.

As a final non-hostel related note for the budget traveller, Huka Falls are well worth a visit as is the dam beyond the falls, which opens the flood gates every couple of hours from 10am till 4pm. It's quite an impressive sight if you've never seen a dam release its gates before...the views of the valley itself are also worth the extra walking before returning for a dip in the thermal springs in the park on the way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi there. Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback.
Regarding the hallway smells - this is the main reason why we don't allow alcohol in our hallways/carpeted areas/rooms - the smell is a result of guests abusing the "no alcohol" rule and alcohol being splashed into the carpet. It is difficult to clean and we cannot afford to be replacing carpets every few weeks so we just do the best we can in this instance.

If you noticed, the full time staff that sit downstairs are a husband and wife team. We have 3 children take care of, household chores to attend to (we live on site), hostel chores to help complete plus a business to run.

We do spend a considerable amount of time talking to guests about activities and have a lot of lengthy conversations with people about general stuff so I'm sorry if you feel that this isn't "enough involvement". I'm not sure what more you require from us. Guests are welcome to come down to talk with us but due to our commitments we are not able to go upstairs and "socialise".

We are very involved in our business - so much so, that we both work full time (5am-10.30pm) 7 days a week. We have had no holidays for the past 5+ years (not even one night out of town together as a family). We cannot afford to pay staff to cover nights/weekends/holidays so that we can get away together and we do not have our own home to go to after we finish work. We have sacrificed a lot to be "involved" in our business. This is a common theme in most "family run" accommodation businesses in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Signing a disclaimer when you check in and a big double page list of rules when you get to the room did cause a few concerns but actually this means that the hostel is clean, quiet after 10pm and has some great large communal spaces and is very close to town. Highly recommended

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikiboss, Owner at Tiki Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave comments. Just to clarify - the disclaimer is a standard form at sign in - 3 lines explains that guests are responsible for their own belongings, as well as any damage they cause to our property or rooms. The "double page list of rules" referred to is actually a two page information sheet - i.e. displaying internet costs, laundry pricing, reception hours, alcohol rules, safety information, and general information about the hostel. It is most definitely not a list/page of rules however some relevant safety and security information is included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 33 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Lodge

Property: Tiki Lodge
Address: 104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiki Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autumn Special: FREE breakfast from 1st April-30th November 2017. If you are looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake views, then Tiki Lodge is the backpacker lodge for you! We offer FREE unlimited Wifi and with one of the best locations in the city, you will definitely enjoy your stay at Tiki Lodge. Its prime location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the town centre for great shops, cafes, and restaurants. Plus, we're only a 2-minute walk to the shores of our famous Lake Taupo. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen boasting 3 ovens and including free oil, spices, tea and coffee. Make new friends in our spacious chilled lounge and relax in our cosy T.V room with our large array of DVD's. We also offer free onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, comfortable beds and BBQ on the picturesque balcony. There is so much to do in this beautiful region and our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone! We also have bikes for hire onsite for all the great trails in Taupo and surrounding areas. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay! Please note: Late check-ins (after 8.30pm) are by PRE arrangement only. No check-ins after 11pm. Please phone or email for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tiki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing