We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the night on our way between Whakatane and Napier
The room was nice and bright with a balcony and the reception staff were helpful and friendly
We didn't eat there but it was very handy for Taupo itself or any of the other attractions in that area
Good value

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 99PeterN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

This was disappointing in light of the rest of our trip. Not as good as other places supposed to be of similar standard. One pool closed, other full of children so nowhere for us to go. Room fine, but whole resort felt dead and not particularly special. Dinner and food was excellent - a redeeming feature.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting and good facilities but main pool being serviced. Rooms small but nice. Very basic TV and limited choice of channels. Connecting with the wifi is obscure so you need to ask for a full explanation when you check in. A real need for an explanation
on the card with the code. Nice buffet in Fairways restaurant. We left some clothes in wardrobe and we did get them back but they didn't contact us and could have phoned and been more proactive.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The company my husband works for has a conference here every 2-3 years. This was our 5th time, and it has always been a good to great experience. The rooms are comfortable and well-maintained, and clean. We had a ground floor room with a little patio area. If you stay in one of the main wings, ask to be on the side away from the road, otherwise traffic can be noisy. We stayed in one of the little villas one year, they are bigger and more self-contained. The resort has big grounds to walk or bike around, and there is a tunnel under the road to the golf course. It's 5 minutes drive from Taupo, where there is always lots to do. Breakfasts are very generous, and they will cook something to order if need be. I'm allergic to milk, so they did milkless scrambled egg for me.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter - ground floor don't have a view if that is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The resort was not in town, but near most of the attractions (eg huka falls). It was a big resort and our room was #700+. The room is very big with a sink area to prepare some food. There was a balcony which over looked the garden. TV had a bit of static.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqid710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. will definitely be coming back. great service and well presented rooms. plenty to do at the resort and in the local area. enjoyed an outstanding roast buffet for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olddadnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We paid 170 for the room. It is overpriced. The hotel looks clean. The pool is heated at 36 degrees. Too warm to stay in for a longer time or to swim in. You can hear the street when you take the view of the pool. Probably better off to stay at the parkinglot side. The dinner , the lamb was excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.3 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,229 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
4.1 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 68 in Taupo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#2 of 68 in Taupo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#12 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing