We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for average service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Levin, New Zealand
1 review
“Pricey for average service”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Room was ok, but not as clean as it could have been (hairs in the shower, little seed pods from the trees in the garden in the bed).
Reception service wasn't great, they weren't that helpful when you needed anything. Didn't even have a number for a taxi service.
On the upside, the food was well above average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathmajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    277
    121
    31
    15
See reviews for
217
215
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great conference venue, lovely food, comfortable beds and pleasant, clean rooms.. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Great facilities, lovely expansive grounds with tennis courts and a golf course across the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmt002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. Actually I think it was better the second time! Comfortable beds and lovely bathroom. Meals have been very tasty - especially the conference dinner. Great choices of food

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 70sammy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Warm and comfortable rooms, with all the necessary bits and bobs for making a conference venue work for both delegates and partners, with a lovely golf course across the road, beautiful grounds to walk in, spa and swimming pools, and beauty spa for me! Husband was well catered for in the conference room, with plenty of room, comfortable seating and tasty meals at break times. Just a short drive to the shopping in Taupo and many outdoor attractions

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GailL0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We always break our journey north with a night at the Wairakei. It is the perfect place to wind down after the sress of getting away from home. Stressful for me at any rate! The grounds are very relaxing and the grandchildren love the hot pool. The atmosphere at the hotel and especially the dining room is very family friendly at the same time as being very good as far as service is concerned. The beds are excellent and the rooms eleganty appointed and comfortable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank foureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here. It was fantastic for the children. They have a few hot pools heated to 35 so we went for a swim in the evening as a family. Nobody else there so we had the whole pool to ourselves. Accommodation was clean and we were pleased we chose Wairakei last minute.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for the Queens B day long weekend just gone, from Sat 31st May to June 2nd. We have stayed here about 6 - 7 times over the years and they have been all awesome. This time it started off great as usual, friendly staff, we found our room 801 upstairs.
We unpacked our stuff, went for a swim and then when the toilet was used it wouldnt stop running or making a running water sound no matter how many times we pushed the button down to stop it. My wife rang up the reception and told them what the story was with the toilet, we were going out somewhere for the night so we left before someone came to look at it. We came back and it was sweet as, then when someone used the toilet it started again. I took the top of the unit off and put a pair of chopsticks under the float thing to stop the noise. This seemed to work and we left it like this for the rest of our stay. Anywhere this was the only annoying thing from our stay, everything else was great as usual. The Kids went for swims, a Spa, we had breakfast in the morning.
I did take a picture on my phone of the toilet tank and showed the women on reception but I dont think she was very fussed about it. We could of changed rooms I reckon but chose to stay in Rm 801, next time ill try and avoid Rm 801.
Otherwise we love staying at the Wairakei Resort.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Room 801, unless the toilet is fixed, otherwise sweet as.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Haydon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.6 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing