We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smith Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wairakei Resort Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Smith Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I also ways feel safe and relaxed when we stay at the Wairakei
We have been staying here for 5 years and enjoy every stay
They have great facilities for the whole family, stuff that we can all enjoy together or just par take on our own.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    258
    119
    28
    14
See reviews for
203
203
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We would have had a better time if we could have had a family room. The booking page of the website indicated availability but apparently not. Adjoining rooms was best we could do. Strange thing was a lack of resort compendium full of information on the resort and surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh uk
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a place ..whether a family weekend or romantic break this place delivers it all
Golf ,spas,fishing ,walking ,...it is all available here
It is also ideal for Anniversary celebrations We attended a golden Wedding here in April
What a wonderful gay it was....it is not the first visit...and hopefully not our last

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorningEdinburghuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed only one night here and loved it. The room was lovely and the place has a Somerset Maugham air to it, elegant and gracious. Everything was beautifully clean and well-maintained. We had a great meal in the restaurant and everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. This would be a great place to stay if you were spending time in and around Taupo and next time we will check out the hot pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taihape, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed a number of times and have enjoyed it every time.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Raj always stops for a chat and it is nice to be recognized.
It is helpful for us to eat, drink and sleep in the same place. The suites are quiet and clean with comfortable beds and nice spacious bathrooms.
We prefer the executive King suites with interconnecting lounge
The heated pools are heavenly and, bunnies, quail and tuis are abundant
GEORGE

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was there for a conference. Overall the rooms were very clean, tidy and warm. For the price, you can't complain! I liked how all the rooms interconnected and you could walk to the restaurant and the function rooms all under cover which was great because it was freezing and cold. Overall the houses

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MicheleS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very nice venue, and reasonably good meals, but we got stung horribly on Fri 20th June, when my partner ordered an extra pork chop with his meal and we were NOT informed by staff that we would be charged the full meal price, thereby depriving us of the choice to go ahead with the order or not, which we would not have, had we known we would be charged another $25.50 for one chop, making the modest meal $51.00 and that chop the most expensive ever. Talked to two staff members on the Saturday, but got the shoulder shrug and told that's the way it is. Most definitely NOT impressed with that attitude.

ADENDUM. THE ABOVE MATTER HAS BEEN HANDLED IN A 4 STAR MANNER SINCE THIS REVIEW. I AM DELIGHTED AT THE OUTCOME AND I WOULD URGE OTHER GUESTS WHO MAY HAVE SIMILAR PROBLEMS TO DEAL STRAIGHT WITH THE MANAGER KATHY GUY WHO WILL SORT THINGS IN AN EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL WAY.

Room Tip: The 700 block is at the back of the complex and very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evnmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing